Restaurant AI Manager vs MarketMan: which is right for your venues?

For restaurantsLast verified 3 September 2026Australia · New Zealand

The short answer

MarketMan is a mature American inventory and purchasing system: real-time inventory, predictive ordering, invoice OCR, actual-versus-theoretical variance, an HQ layer and a commissary module, built around vendor EDI that it states covers the US, Canada and the UK. Restaurant AI Manager does the same core jobs for venues and groups that buy from their own suppliers, and adds tenders, orders and prep from bookings and functions, labour and prime cost, food-safety checks and AI that drafts the work for approval.

Choose Restaurant AI Manager if…

  • You buy from your own local suppliers rather than a US broadline distributor, and want orders to reach every one of them — live or by email.
  • Your orders and prep should follow bookings and functions as well as the sales forecast.
  • You want labour cost, prime cost, food-safety checks and the daily close in the same system as stock and purchasing.
  • You want AI that drafts orders and credit claims for a person to approve, and the option to connect Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini.

Choose MarketMan if…

  • You buy from Sysco, US Foods, Performance Foodservice or Gordon Food Service in the US, Canada or the UK — its vendor EDI is stated for those regions.
  • You want your POS on a long, published list of named integrations.
  • You take a lot of handwritten invoices; its OCR is stated to read handwriting as well as print.
  • You want a mature, long-established variance and inventory product on every tier.

Restaurant AI Manager and MarketMan at a glance

Every MarketMan cell below is footnoted to a dated source at the foot of this page. Where a capability is not described on MarketMan’s own site we mark it partial and say so — that means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.

CapabilityRestaurant AI ManagerMarketMan
Stock counts on a phoneYesCounts on a phone in shelf order, with cartons, inners, singles and open bottles on one line; phone camera, Bluetooth and handheld scanners; voice counting; counts finished with no signal; blind counts; variance in dollars, recounts and approval before posting.YesMobile counts that sync when connectivity returns, partial counts, count schedules and inter-location transfers.[2]
Stock kept up to date by deliveries and salesYesDeliveries checked off at the door add stock to each item’s storage area; POS sales take it off through your recipes; waste, staff meals and transfers between venues come off at cost.YesReal-time inventory from purchase orders, POS sell-through and manual counts.[2]
Orders worked out for youYesOrders drafted from forecast use less stock on hand and on order, rounded to packs and delivery days, one per supplier, sent by a person. Live to suppliers on Open Pantry, by email to any other supplier; text orders on request.YesPurchase orders on web or mobile with par levels, delivery days and cut-off times, and one-click fill-to-par. Orders go directly to integrated vendors; how they reach a supplier that is not integrated is not stated publicly.[3]
Purchase approvals, budgets and spend limitsYesApproval rules by value, venue, supplier and category; a purchaser queue; weekly budgets per venue with mid-week projections; spending limits per person; a preferred supplier list that holds off-list orders.PartialPurchasing budgets and price limits on purchase orders are published. A multi-step approval chain and a purchaser queue are not described publicly.[3]
Invoice matching and credit claimsYesInvoices photographed, uploaded or forwarded, matched three ways against the order and the delivery check-off, held with a reason before they reach your books, and credit requests drafted for a person to send.YesOCR of printed and handwritten invoices matched against the purchase order, with discrepancies flagged and credit memos handled. 50 scans a month on the entry plan; email-forward scanning is Enterprise only.[5]
Contract prices and supplier price changesYesPrice trends from every delivery. Owners can switch on supplier price changes that wait for approval with their GP effect shown, contract prices checked on every order and invoice with the difference claimed, price-rise alerts and supplier scorecards.YesPrice tracking with alerts on every tier, an alert when a price change pushes menu profitability past your threshold, and an irregular price report flagging supplier increases. Approving a supplier’s price change before it applies is not described publicly.[4]
Supplier tenders and quotesYesTenders built from 12 months of actual usage, sent to suppliers on Open Pantry or anyone by link, compared like for like per kilo, litre or each, awarded whole or split, with the winning prices loaded as contract prices.PartialSupplier tenders or requests for quotes are not described on the pages we read — confirm with vendor.[3]
Recipe costing and why GP movedYesReads your recipes from menu costing; POS items matched to recipes with High, Check or Unsure confidence; actual against theoretical usage by item and location; GP movement split into price, mix, waste, yield and count error in dollars.YesCost per portion from live ingredient prices with sub-recipes and modifiers, recalculated when a new invoice or price lands, and a menu profitability report per item.[4]
Forecasting and prep from bookings and functionsYesA sales forecast per day and dish from sales history, bookings and functions, driving suggested orders and prep lists by station. Bookings and functions come in by hand, CSV, calendar feed, forwarded email or Zapier and Make; direct connections on request.PartialPredictive Smart Ordering forecasts what to buy. Prep lists, and forecasts from bookings and functions, are not described publicly.[1]
Production kitchenYesA production kitchen your venues order from like any supplier, planned from venue orders and the forecast, with batches, labels, lot tracing and recall, and internal invoices. An owner switches it on.YesA commissary module for central production, charged separately at $499 or $749 a month.[1]
Head office and multi-venue controlYesHead-office recipes with versions, tested at one venue and rolled out, costed at each venue’s own prices; shared order lists; regions and area managers; roles with venue, category and money limits; group branding; a full change log. No single sign-on yet.YesAn HQ account for centralised management, per-location and franchise-group reporting, and corporate control of pricing and approved supplier lists.[1]
Reporting and weekly emailsYesStock, cost, purchasing, sales and menu reports per venue, region and group, exported to CSV or Excel; a weekly email every Monday with a group summary; profit suggestions ranked in dollars a week.YesGross profit, COGS and menu profitability reports that update as ingredients are received. Scheduled emailed reports are not described on the pages we read.[4]
AI assistant and drafting agentsYesAsk and a morning briefing over your own figures; AI helpers that draft orders and credit claims; High, Check or Unsure on every suggestion; drafts only, logged and undoable; and Connect your AI for Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini with each person’s own role.PartialPredictive Smart Ordering is named. A conversational assistant over your own data is not described on the pages we read.[1]
POS sales integrationYesConnects to your POS, whichever one you use; the day’s sales come in and are matched to your recipes, and a quiet feed is flagged rather than read as zero sales.YesA long named list including Square, Toast, Lightspeed, Clover, TouchBistro, Aloha/NCR, Micros, Revel, Shift4 and Redcat.[6]
Labour cost and rosteringYesLabour cost from Deputy, Tanda or Planday on request, from a timesheet file from any system, or typed in; labour % and prime cost; a roster board and roster suggestions from the forecast. No payroll.NoRostering, payroll and labour are not part of it; it is back-of-house inventory and purchasing.[1]
Food safety, checklists and trainingYesFood-safety checks and temperature logs switched on venue by venue, with fridge sensors on request; training lessons and certificates, team notices and a pre-shift briefing as owner switches; a kiosk mode for shared tablets.PartialFood-safety checklists, temperature logs and training are not described on the pages we read.[1]
Accounting integrationYesSupplier bills and a daily sales journal drafted for Xero, MYOB or QuickBooks.YesQuickBooks and Xero, with approved invoices and payment records syncing across.[1]
Published pricingYesPublished per venue, per month, for each country, on the restaurant pricing page. No contract.PartialStarter $249 a month, Growth $299 and Enterprise from $449, with add-ons; no currency stated, and other pages advertised a different price list at the same time.[1]
Australian presenceYesBuilt and supported in Australia, sold per country in local currency.PartialOperational hubs in North America, Europe and the Middle East, with no Australian page, office or currency; vendor EDI stated as US, Canada and UK only.[7]

Restaurant AI Manager capabilities are from our own published plans and feature pages. MarketMan capabilities are from its own published pages, read on 3 September 2026.

Everything Restaurant AI Manager runs

MarketMan assumes your distributors are integrated with it; Restaurant AI Manager starts from the suppliers and invoices you already have. This is everything it does, with a page behind every line.

On the floor

Stock control and counts
Phone counts in any pack mix, scanners, offline, and stock that deliveries and sales keep current.
Demand forecasting and prep
Orders and prep worked out from sales, bookings and functions.
Delivery check-off
Count it at the door; the received quantity becomes stock.
Central kitchen
A production kitchen your venues order from like any supplier.

Buying

Ordering and suppliers
Drafted orders to your own suppliers, tenders and price control.
Purchase approvals and budgets
Spend rules, weekly budgets and a purchaser queue.
Supplier credit requests
Shorts and price differences drafted as credit requests.

Money

Food cost variance
Why GP moved, in dollars that add up.
Menu engineering
Which dishes to promote, rework or drop.
Reporting
Stock, cost, purchasing and menu reports, and the Monday email.
End-of-day reconciliation
Close the day and draft the sales journal.

The group and the AI

Multi-venue management
Every venue side by side, every morning.
Group head office
Master recipes, shared lists, regions and roles.
AI restaurant assistant
A morning briefing and Ask, over your own figures.
AI agents
Drafted orders and credit claims you approve; connect your own AI.

See everything in Restaurant AI Manager →

Where each one is stronger

Neither product wins on every row, and a comparison that says otherwise is not worth reading.

Restaurant AI Manager is stronger at

  • Working with the suppliers you already have — live to those on Open Pantry, by email to everyone else — rather than relying on distributor EDI that MarketMan states covers the US, Canada and the UK.
  • Orders and prep from bookings and functions as well as the forecast, and supplier tenders priced on your own usage.
  • Labour cost, prime cost, food-safety checks and the daily close in the same product.
  • AI that drafts orders and credit claims for approval, a morning briefing ranked in dollars, and Connect your AI for Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini.

MarketMan is stronger at

  • Vendor EDI with the large US distributors, so prices, orders and invoices move without anyone typing — in the US, Canada and the UK.
  • A named POS list dozens long.
  • Invoice OCR that reads handwriting as well as print.
  • A long-established inventory and variance product used at multi-unit and franchise scale.

What each one costs

Restaurant AI Manager

Restaurant AI Manager is priced per venue, per month, with no contract, and the price for your country is published on the restaurant pricing page. The AI helpers, the morning briefing and the reports are included. Ordering from your suppliers stays free for every venue, and Menu Profit Manager is still sold on its own.

See restaurant plans and pricing →

MarketMan

Three published plans: Starter $249 a month, Growth $299 and Enterprise from $449, with advanced reports, email invoice scanning and API access as add-ons below Enterprise and the commissary module a separate $499 or $749 a month. No currency is stated, and its home and partners pages advertised a different price list at the same time — confirm which applies. No free plan or self-serve trial.

Source: MarketMan — Pricing (plans, add-ons, vendor EDI regions, invoice scan limits) · verified 3 September 2026

Switching from MarketMan to Restaurant AI Manager

What the move actually involves. We do not promise a timeline — it depends on how many venues, suppliers and recipes you bring across.

  1. Connect the POS and add your venues. Sales start coming in and matching to your recipes straight away; anything unmatched is held, not lost.
  2. Bring your items and par levels across. Export them from your current system to a spreadsheet and import them — we will help map the columns.
  3. Load the invoices. Forward or photograph a month of supplier invoices so suppliers, pack sizes and the prices you actually pay are in from day one.
  4. Check your top dishes. Confirm the recipes behind the dishes that make up most of your sales; the rest can follow.
  5. Do the first count on phones, then run both systems side by side for a fortnight and compare the numbers before you switch the old one off.

Who uses Open Pantry

Venues ordering through it
5,000+
Suppliers on Open Pantry
600+
Markets served
AU & NZ

Restaurant AI Manager vs MarketMan — common questions

What is the difference between Restaurant AI Manager and MarketMan?

Both run inventory, ordering, invoices, costing and multi-venue reporting. MarketMan is a mature US system built around vendor EDI with large distributors in the US, Canada and the UK. Restaurant AI Manager works with the suppliers you already have and adds tenders, orders and prep from bookings and functions, labour and prime cost, food-safety checks and AI that drafts work for approval.

Is MarketMan available in Australia?

MarketMan does not say. On the pages we read it publishes no Australian office, page or currency, lists hubs in North America, Europe and the Middle East, and states that vendor EDI covers the US, Canada and the UK only. Restaurant AI Manager is built and supported in Australia and sold per country in local currency.

Which one is better for ordering from my own suppliers?

Restaurant AI Manager. It sends orders live to suppliers on Open Pantry and as email purchase orders to any other supplier, at your own prices. MarketMan’s automation leans on integrated vendors, and how an order reaches a supplier that is not integrated is not stated on its site.

Do both have a central or commissary kitchen?

Yes. MarketMan sells a commissary module separately at $499 or $749 a month. Restaurant AI Manager has a production kitchen your venues order from like any supplier, planned from venue orders and the forecast, with batches, labels, lot tracing and internal invoices, switched on by an owner.

Does either handle labour and rostering?

MarketMan does not; it is back-of-house inventory and purchasing. Restaurant AI Manager brings in labour cost from your rostering system on request, from a timesheet file or typed in, shows labour % and prime cost, and has a roster board. Neither runs payroll.

How do the AI features compare?

MarketMan names predictive Smart Ordering. Restaurant AI Manager has Ask and a morning briefing over your own figures, AI helpers that draft orders and credit claims with a High, Check or Unsure label for a person to approve, and Connect your AI for Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini with each person’s own role.

How much does each one cost?

MarketMan publishes Starter at $249 a month, Growth at $299 and Enterprise from $449, with add-ons, no stated currency and a second price list live at the same time. Restaurant AI Manager is priced per venue, per month, with no contract, and the price for your country is on the Open Pantry restaurant pricing page.

How was this comparison checked?

Every MarketMan claim comes from MarketMan’s own published pages, read on the date shown at the top of this page, and is re-checked quarterly. “Not described on the pages we read” means we could not confirm it — treat it as a question for MarketMan, not a verdict. If something here is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.

Sources

Every MarketMan claim on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their prices; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.

  1. MarketMan — Pricing (plans, add-ons, vendor EDI regions, invoice scan limits) — https://www.marketman.com/pricing-for-restaurant-inventory-management-system (accessed 3 September 2026)
  2. MarketMan — Restaurant inventory management — https://www.marketman.com/platform/restaurant-inventory-management-software (accessed 3 September 2026)
  3. MarketMan — Restaurant purchasing and order management — https://www.marketman.com/platform/restaurant-purchasing-software-and-order-management (accessed 3 September 2026)
  4. MarketMan — Recipe costing — https://www.marketman.com/platform/recipe-costing-software (accessed 3 September 2026)
  5. MarketMan — Accounts payable automation (invoice OCR, PO matching, credit memos) — https://www.marketman.com/platform/marketman-accounts-payable-automation (accessed 3 September 2026)
  6. MarketMan — Partners (POS, accounting and distributor integrations) — https://www.marketman.com/partners (accessed 3 September 2026)
  7. MarketMan — About us (operational hubs and scale) — https://www.marketman.com/about-us (accessed 3 September 2026)

Try Restaurant AI Manager on a demo restaurant group

Sign in to Harbour & Vine, a three-venue demo group with weeks of sales, deliveries and counts, as the owner, head chef or operations manager — a guide shows you around, and there is nothing to sign up for.