MarketMan is a mature American inventory and purchasing system: real-time inventory, predictive ordering, invoice OCR, actual-versus-theoretical variance, an HQ layer and a commissary module, built around vendor EDI that it states covers the US, Canada and the UK. Restaurant AI Manager does the same core jobs for venues and groups that buy from their own suppliers, and adds tenders, orders and prep from bookings and functions, labour and prime cost, food-safety checks and AI that drafts the work for approval.
Every MarketMan cell below is footnoted to a dated source at the foot of this page. Where a capability is not described on MarketMan’s own site we mark it partial and say so — that means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.
| Capability | Restaurant AI Manager | MarketMan |
|---|---|---|
| Stock counts on a phone | YesCounts on a phone in shelf order, with cartons, inners, singles and open bottles on one line; phone camera, Bluetooth and handheld scanners; voice counting; counts finished with no signal; blind counts; variance in dollars, recounts and approval before posting. | YesMobile counts that sync when connectivity returns, partial counts, count schedules and inter-location transfers.[2] |
| Stock kept up to date by deliveries and sales | YesDeliveries checked off at the door add stock to each item’s storage area; POS sales take it off through your recipes; waste, staff meals and transfers between venues come off at cost. | YesReal-time inventory from purchase orders, POS sell-through and manual counts.[2] |
| Orders worked out for you | YesOrders drafted from forecast use less stock on hand and on order, rounded to packs and delivery days, one per supplier, sent by a person. Live to suppliers on Open Pantry, by email to any other supplier; text orders on request. | YesPurchase orders on web or mobile with par levels, delivery days and cut-off times, and one-click fill-to-par. Orders go directly to integrated vendors; how they reach a supplier that is not integrated is not stated publicly.[3] |
| Purchase approvals, budgets and spend limits | YesApproval rules by value, venue, supplier and category; a purchaser queue; weekly budgets per venue with mid-week projections; spending limits per person; a preferred supplier list that holds off-list orders. | PartialPurchasing budgets and price limits on purchase orders are published. A multi-step approval chain and a purchaser queue are not described publicly.[3] |
| Invoice matching and credit claims | YesInvoices photographed, uploaded or forwarded, matched three ways against the order and the delivery check-off, held with a reason before they reach your books, and credit requests drafted for a person to send. | YesOCR of printed and handwritten invoices matched against the purchase order, with discrepancies flagged and credit memos handled. 50 scans a month on the entry plan; email-forward scanning is Enterprise only.[5] |
| Contract prices and supplier price changes | YesPrice trends from every delivery. Owners can switch on supplier price changes that wait for approval with their GP effect shown, contract prices checked on every order and invoice with the difference claimed, price-rise alerts and supplier scorecards. | YesPrice tracking with alerts on every tier, an alert when a price change pushes menu profitability past your threshold, and an irregular price report flagging supplier increases. Approving a supplier’s price change before it applies is not described publicly.[4] |
| Supplier tenders and quotes | YesTenders built from 12 months of actual usage, sent to suppliers on Open Pantry or anyone by link, compared like for like per kilo, litre or each, awarded whole or split, with the winning prices loaded as contract prices. | PartialSupplier tenders or requests for quotes are not described on the pages we read — confirm with vendor.[3] |
| Recipe costing and why GP moved | YesReads your recipes from menu costing; POS items matched to recipes with High, Check or Unsure confidence; actual against theoretical usage by item and location; GP movement split into price, mix, waste, yield and count error in dollars. | YesCost per portion from live ingredient prices with sub-recipes and modifiers, recalculated when a new invoice or price lands, and a menu profitability report per item.[4] |
| Forecasting and prep from bookings and functions | YesA sales forecast per day and dish from sales history, bookings and functions, driving suggested orders and prep lists by station. Bookings and functions come in by hand, CSV, calendar feed, forwarded email or Zapier and Make; direct connections on request. | PartialPredictive Smart Ordering forecasts what to buy. Prep lists, and forecasts from bookings and functions, are not described publicly.[1] |
| Production kitchen | YesA production kitchen your venues order from like any supplier, planned from venue orders and the forecast, with batches, labels, lot tracing and recall, and internal invoices. An owner switches it on. | YesA commissary module for central production, charged separately at $499 or $749 a month.[1] |
| Head office and multi-venue control | YesHead-office recipes with versions, tested at one venue and rolled out, costed at each venue’s own prices; shared order lists; regions and area managers; roles with venue, category and money limits; group branding; a full change log. No single sign-on yet. | YesAn HQ account for centralised management, per-location and franchise-group reporting, and corporate control of pricing and approved supplier lists.[1] |
| Reporting and weekly emails | YesStock, cost, purchasing, sales and menu reports per venue, region and group, exported to CSV or Excel; a weekly email every Monday with a group summary; profit suggestions ranked in dollars a week. | YesGross profit, COGS and menu profitability reports that update as ingredients are received. Scheduled emailed reports are not described on the pages we read.[4] |
| AI assistant and drafting agents | YesAsk and a morning briefing over your own figures; AI helpers that draft orders and credit claims; High, Check or Unsure on every suggestion; drafts only, logged and undoable; and Connect your AI for Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini with each person’s own role. | PartialPredictive Smart Ordering is named. A conversational assistant over your own data is not described on the pages we read.[1] |
| POS sales integration | YesConnects to your POS, whichever one you use; the day’s sales come in and are matched to your recipes, and a quiet feed is flagged rather than read as zero sales. | YesA long named list including Square, Toast, Lightspeed, Clover, TouchBistro, Aloha/NCR, Micros, Revel, Shift4 and Redcat.[6] |
| Labour cost and rostering | YesLabour cost from Deputy, Tanda or Planday on request, from a timesheet file from any system, or typed in; labour % and prime cost; a roster board and roster suggestions from the forecast. No payroll. | NoRostering, payroll and labour are not part of it; it is back-of-house inventory and purchasing.[1] |
| Food safety, checklists and training | YesFood-safety checks and temperature logs switched on venue by venue, with fridge sensors on request; training lessons and certificates, team notices and a pre-shift briefing as owner switches; a kiosk mode for shared tablets. | PartialFood-safety checklists, temperature logs and training are not described on the pages we read.[1] |
| Accounting integration | YesSupplier bills and a daily sales journal drafted for Xero, MYOB or QuickBooks. | YesQuickBooks and Xero, with approved invoices and payment records syncing across.[1] |
| Published pricing | YesPublished per venue, per month, for each country, on the restaurant pricing page. No contract. | PartialStarter $249 a month, Growth $299 and Enterprise from $449, with add-ons; no currency stated, and other pages advertised a different price list at the same time.[1] |
| Australian presence | YesBuilt and supported in Australia, sold per country in local currency. | PartialOperational hubs in North America, Europe and the Middle East, with no Australian page, office or currency; vendor EDI stated as US, Canada and UK only.[7] |
Restaurant AI Manager capabilities are from our own published plans and feature pages. MarketMan capabilities are from its own published pages, read on 3 September 2026.
MarketMan assumes your distributors are integrated with it; Restaurant AI Manager starts from the suppliers and invoices you already have. This is everything it does, with a page behind every line.
Neither product wins on every row, and a comparison that says otherwise is not worth reading.
Restaurant AI Manager is priced per venue, per month, with no contract, and the price for your country is published on the restaurant pricing page. The AI helpers, the morning briefing and the reports are included. Ordering from your suppliers stays free for every venue, and Menu Profit Manager is still sold on its own.
Three published plans: Starter $249 a month, Growth $299 and Enterprise from $449, with advanced reports, email invoice scanning and API access as add-ons below Enterprise and the commissary module a separate $499 or $749 a month. No currency is stated, and its home and partners pages advertised a different price list at the same time — confirm which applies. No free plan or self-serve trial.
Source: MarketMan — Pricing (plans, add-ons, vendor EDI regions, invoice scan limits) · verified 3 September 2026
What the move actually involves. We do not promise a timeline — it depends on how many venues, suppliers and recipes you bring across.
Both run inventory, ordering, invoices, costing and multi-venue reporting. MarketMan is a mature US system built around vendor EDI with large distributors in the US, Canada and the UK. Restaurant AI Manager works with the suppliers you already have and adds tenders, orders and prep from bookings and functions, labour and prime cost, food-safety checks and AI that drafts work for approval.
MarketMan does not say. On the pages we read it publishes no Australian office, page or currency, lists hubs in North America, Europe and the Middle East, and states that vendor EDI covers the US, Canada and the UK only. Restaurant AI Manager is built and supported in Australia and sold per country in local currency.
Restaurant AI Manager. It sends orders live to suppliers on Open Pantry and as email purchase orders to any other supplier, at your own prices. MarketMan’s automation leans on integrated vendors, and how an order reaches a supplier that is not integrated is not stated on its site.
Yes. MarketMan sells a commissary module separately at $499 or $749 a month. Restaurant AI Manager has a production kitchen your venues order from like any supplier, planned from venue orders and the forecast, with batches, labels, lot tracing and internal invoices, switched on by an owner.
MarketMan does not; it is back-of-house inventory and purchasing. Restaurant AI Manager brings in labour cost from your rostering system on request, from a timesheet file or typed in, shows labour % and prime cost, and has a roster board. Neither runs payroll.
MarketMan names predictive Smart Ordering. Restaurant AI Manager has Ask and a morning briefing over your own figures, AI helpers that draft orders and credit claims with a High, Check or Unsure label for a person to approve, and Connect your AI for Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini with each person’s own role.
MarketMan publishes Starter at $249 a month, Growth at $299 and Enterprise from $449, with add-ons, no stated currency and a second price list live at the same time. Restaurant AI Manager is priced per venue, per month, with no contract, and the price for your country is on the Open Pantry restaurant pricing page.
Every MarketMan claim comes from MarketMan’s own published pages, read on the date shown at the top of this page, and is re-checked quarterly. “Not described on the pages we read” means we could not confirm it — treat it as a question for MarketMan, not a verdict. If something here is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.
Every MarketMan claim on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their prices; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.
Sign in to Harbour & Vine, a three-venue demo group with weeks of sales, deliveries and counts, as the owner, head chef or operations manager — a guide shows you around, and there is nothing to sign up for.