MarketMan alternatives for Australian restaurants (2026)

For restaurantsLast verified 3 September 2026Australia

The short answer

The five alternatives to MarketMan worth an Australian venue’s time are Open Pantry, Restoke, FoodByUs, Apicbase and Restaurant365 — but only the first three publish an Australian presence. Restoke prices in Australian dollars and names the Australian tills; FoodByUs is Australian and covers New South Wales and Victoria; Open Pantry is ours, Australian, and free to order with. Apicbase starts at five outlets and states its supplier and POS integrations for the UK, EU and US, and Restaurant365 is a US restaurant accounting system whose payroll is built around US tax law. If MarketMan’s vendor EDI being "US, CA, and UK only" is what sent you looking, two of the five have exactly the same problem.

Why venues look for an alternative to MarketMan

This is not a hit piece. MarketMan does a lot well, and some of what circulates about it in the industry does not survive contact with its own documentation. Understanding where it fits, and where it does not, is what tells you what to look for instead.

The automation is stated for regions that do not include Australia

MarketMan’s own pricing page states that vendor EDI integrations are "US, CA, and UK only", and every integrated distributor it names — Sysco, US Foods, Performance Foodservice, Gordon Food Service, LaBatt, plus the GolBon and Frosty Acres buying groups — is North American. Vendor EDI is the mechanism most of the platform’s value rests on: it is how prices arrive, how orders leave and how invoices come back without anyone typing. How an order reaches a supplier that is not integrated is not stated publicly. For an Australian venue that is not a detail, it is the product.

There is no Australian anything published

MarketMan lists its operational hubs as North America, Europe and the Middle East, with phone contacts for the United States, United Kingdom and Germany only. There is no Australian page, office, phone number, currency or distributor, and /au returns an empty page. It claims customers in more than 55 countries, so ask them directly rather than assuming — but go in knowing that support hours, the suppliers on the other end and the dollars on the invoice are all questions you will have to raise yourself.

Two price lists are live at the same time

The pricing page shows Starter $249 a month, Growth $299 and Enterprise from $449. The home page and the partners page simultaneously show $199 / $249 / Custom with a different feature split. Neither states a currency anywhere. That is not a reason to rule a product out, but it is a reason to get the number in writing before you sign, and to check which feature list the price you were quoted actually buys.

The entry tier is thinner than it reads

Starter caps AI invoice scanning at 50 a month, which a busy venue passes in a fortnight. Email-forward invoice scanning, advanced reports and API access are all add-ons below Enterprise, the API is metered and read-only at $25 to $199 a month by location count, and the commissary module is charged separately at $499 or $749. There is no free plan and no self-serve trial — every call to action is a booked demo, followed by a guided two-to-four-week onboarding even for one site.

What you would be giving up, said plainly

MarketMan is a mature product and two things it does are genuinely hard to replace. Its OCR reads handwritten invoices as well as printed ones, at unlimited volume above the entry tier. And its HQ layer gives a group corporate control over pricing and approved supplier lists across every location, with franchise reporting and a commissary module — something Open Pantry deliberately does not do, because we keep each venue’s suppliers, products, recipes and price history separate. If either of those is why you bought it, weigh that before you move.

What to look for in an alternative

The capability that decides it for one venue is irrelevant to the next. These are the ones worth being deliberate about before you take a single demo.

Whether it works with the suppliers you already have

This is the question that decides most of the list. Some platforms assume your distributors are integrated with them, some are marketplaces that want to sell you new suppliers, and some just take the accounts and negotiated prices you already have. Ask precisely what happens to an order for a supplier the platform has never heard of, because in Australia that will be most of them.

Which till it names

A POS integration is either named and proven or it is a conversation. Restoke names more than thirty systems including the Australian bench — H&L, OrderMate, Impos, Idealpos, SwiftPOS, Redcat, Tyro, Oolio. We name one, Triniteq PowerEPOS, which syncs the day’s sales automatically; every other till reaches us by template import or manual entry. On breadth this is still the row where we are weakest, so if your till is unusual, get the answer in writing from whoever you shortlist.

How the invoice actually gets in

Every platform here claims invoice capture and they do not mean the same thing. Photographed and emailed PDFs, printed and handwritten, credit notes and supplier statements, monthly caps, and whether the extracted lines are matched against what was actually delivered rather than just filed. Ask for a scan of your worst invoice — the crumpled one, the handwritten one — in the demo itself.

What it costs to find out you were wrong

Two of these publish a price you can act on today, one publishes a free tier, and two publish nothing at all and run a demo-and-quote process with a multi-week implementation. That difference is not about the money so much as the reversibility. A venue that can be costing dishes in an afternoon learns whether the numbers help before committing to anything.

Whether you are actually the buyer it was built for

Apicbase states a five-outlet floor and heads its inventory page "for large and enterprise foodservice groups". Restaurant365 sells a whole back office including payroll and a general ledger. If you are a single venue or a pair of them, a platform built for a fifty-site group is not a bargain waiting to be negotiated — it is a different product.

The shortlist

5 platforms we verified on 3 September 2026, each footnoted to its own site. They are numbered for reading order, not ranked — ours is first because we publish the page, and it is labelled as ours so you can weigh it accordingly. Where one of them does not publish an Australian presence, the entry says so rather than leaving you to find out.

1. Open Pantry

Our product[5][6]

Best for: An Australian or New Zealand venue that wants to keep the suppliers it already has, order across all of them for nothing, and turn its own invoices into live dish costs.

A procurement, costing and inventory platform for restaurants, cafes and bars, built around the supplier accounts you already hold rather than a distributor network. Ordering is free and unlimited across every supplier. Supplier invoices are photographed or emailed in and read line by line, which builds the product and price history and pushes new prices straight through to every recipe that uses the ingredient — so a price rise arrives as an alert naming the dishes it hurts. On top of that sit inventory and stocktakes, waste, preparation lists that turn tomorrow’s portions into what you still need to buy, delivery check-off at the door with the invoice matched against what actually arrived, and credit claims raised from the same screen.

Strengths

  • Australian and New Zealand, in Australian dollars, with Australian suppliers on the other end of the order — the thing MarketMan does not publish at all.
  • Your supplier accounts and negotiated prices stay yours. It is not a marketplace, it sells you nothing, and adding a supplier is something you do yourself rather than request.
  • The cost of finding out is close to nothing: ordering is free with no time limit, and Menu Profit Manager is $199 once with a 30-day money-back guarantee, against $249 a month and a booked demo.
  • It closes the loop on a short or wrong delivery — check it off at the door, have the invoice matched line by line against what arrived, raise the credit claim to the supplier from the same place.

Watch-outs

  • One till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — set up per venue rather than self-serve; every other till comes in by sales-template import or by hand. If a proven integration with your specific system is decisive, that breadth is a real point against us.
  • No group price lists and no group purchase approvals. Each venue is deliberately separate, so a group buying central control should look at Apicbase, Restaurant365 or MarketMan itself.
  • No nutrition or allergen labelling beyond an allergen field on a recipe card, and no rostering, payroll or restaurant general ledger.
  • We publish this page, so read our own entry with that in mind and check it against the pricing page linked beside it.

Pricing: Ordering is free — unlimited orders and suppliers, no time limit. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee, covering invoice scanning, recipe import, live costing, margins and price-spike alerts. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month and adds automated inventory and stocktake, automated ordering, POS import and the full reporting set.

2. Restoke

[7][8]

Best for: An Australian venue that wants the closest like-for-like replacement, with a named integration for the till it actually runs.

An AI back-of-house platform — "your back-of-house brain" in its own words — bundling live food costing, inventory, supplier ordering, invoice capture, team checklists and training, and reporting, sitting on top of the POS, accounting and rostering tools a venue already runs. Invoices arrive as PDFs, images, CSVs or spreadsheets, including credit notes and statements, and live supplier pricing pushes updated costs through every affected ingredient, recipe and menu item.

Strengths

  • It publishes a price in Australian dollars ex GST, per site, with no set-up fee, no lock-in and unlimited team members on every tier — $111 a month annual on Essentials, $175 on Pro.
  • More than thirty named POS integrations including the Australian bench: H&L, OrderMate, Impos, Idealpos, SwiftPOS, Redcat, Tyro and Oolio, alongside Lightspeed, Square and Toast.
  • Accounting across Xero, QuickBooks, MYOB, MYOB Acumatica and Microsoft Business Central.
  • Kitchen team operations are a first-class module rather than an add-on — checklists, procedures, training, prep runs, temperature logging and compliance history.

Watch-outs

  • Ordering and inventory are Pro-only. The $111 entry tier is costing and invoice capture, not purchasing.
  • Its calls to action say "Get started free" but no free tier appears in the plan table and no trial length is published anywhere.
  • Priced per site, so a group multiplies. Headquarters is described both as an Enterprise feature and as an add-on, and Enterprise pricing is not published.
  • Supplier ordering is email and SMS purchase orders rather than a connected supplier network, and it has no rostering of its own — scheduling is integration-only.

Pricing: Stated in AUD ex GST, per site: Essentials $111 a month annual or $139 monthly; Pro $175 annual or $219 monthly; Enterprise custom. No set-up fees and no lock-in contracts.

3. FoodByUs

[9][10]

Best for: A Sydney or Melbourne venue that wants to find new suppliers as much as manage the ones it has, and wants to start for nothing.

An Australian wholesale marketplace with order-management software wrapped around it: hundreds of suppliers across sixteen-plus categories reachable through one credit application, plus digital ordering, an AI Invoice Hub, price tracking across suppliers, menu costing and POS and accounting integration. Suppliers you already use can be added as Direct Suppliers and ordered from through the same interface.

Strengths

  • The only genuinely free tier here that includes ordering: marketplace access, price tracking, the AI Invoice Hub, cashbacks and trade financing at $0.
  • Supplier discovery with one credit application instead of opening an account and a price book with each supplier individually.
  • Manufacturer-funded "Shop & Save" cashbacks, which no pure software product can offer.
  • Australian, governed by New South Wales law, with an Australian support operation and Xero, MYOB and QuickBooks integration from the Essential tier.

Watch-outs

  • There is no consolidated bill. Each order from each supplier is charged and invoiced separately, debited about 48 hours after delivery, and Direct Suppliers invoice you outside the platform entirely.
  • Its published supplier directory covers New South Wales and Victoria only, and its city landing pages render as unfinished templates.
  • Menu costing, POS integration, custom reports and user permissions are Premium-only at $149 a month, and stocktake and inventory are marked "Coming Soon".
  • Adding your own supplier is a 24-to-48-hour request that requires a prior relationship, and order approval workflows are not stated publicly.

Pricing: Free $0; Essential $99 a month or $79 paid yearly; Premium $149 or $119 yearly; Enterprise custom. A 90-day free trial of the premium features at sign-up, after which you drop to Free. Prices are in Australian dollars per its terms.

4. Apicbase

[11][12]

Best for: A group of five or more outlets with a central production kitchen, where the labelling and traceability obligations are as heavy as the costing.

An "AI-Native Operating System For Foodservice" for large and enterprise food businesses — restaurant groups, catering, hotels and ghost kitchens — bringing recipes, purchasing, inventory and COGS into one place. Its distinctive pieces are three-way matching of purchase order, goods receipt and invoice, drag-and-drop production planning with a central production unit that outlets order from like any other supplier, and compliant allergen and nutrition labelling in eight formats.

Strengths

  • Genuine multi-site and central-production depth: internal ordering, production planning, transfers that sync both stock and cost, group-wide libraries and role-based access.
  • Three-way matching tied to procurement, with supplier performance dashboards — a stronger control than invoice capture alone.
  • Regulatory labelling breadth, and it is the only product here whose site addresses the Australian standard: allergen declarations to FSANZ and the Nutrition Information Panel under Standard 1.2.8.
  • Enterprise plumbing — SOC 2 Type II, SSO, two-factor, a documented API and around 42 POS systems out of the box.

Watch-outs

  • The entry plan starts at five outlets, and the inventory page is headed "for large and enterprise foodservice groups". A single venue is not the addressed buyer.
  • Supplier and POS integrations are stated for the UK, EU and US — and automatic price updates and stock depletion both depend on those connections. Whether it sells into or supports Australia commercially is not stated publicly.
  • No price and no currency published anywhere, no free trial and no self-signup. Billing is annual, with 15% added for monthly, and onboarding for 20+ outlets is scoped at two to six months.
  • Support is weekday 9am–5pm CET, which is roughly 5pm to 1am in eastern Australia, and its accounting integrations are not named publicly.

Pricing: Not published — no figures and no currency anywhere; every call to action is "Talk to our Team". Three plans (Growth from five outlets, Professional, Enterprise) with HACCP, internal ordering, production planning, traceability, API, menu planning and carbon footprint all priced as separate add-ons.

5. Restaurant365

[13][14]

Best for: A US multi-unit operator that wants restaurant accounting, inventory, scheduling and payroll in one system rather than four.

Cloud restaurant management spanning accounting, inventory and purchasing, workforce and payroll in one platform — it calls the category "Restaurant Enterprise Management" and positions itself as replacing a generic ERP. It is a genuinely different shape from everything else on this list: a restaurant-specific general ledger with the invoice-to-GL-to-P&L chain built in, rather than a costing tool that syncs to your accountant’s software.

Strengths

  • Restaurant-specific accounting: a restaurant chart of accounts, automated journal entries, daily sales and bank reconciliation and real-time financials, with AP automation feeding it directly.
  • The widest scope here — inventory, purchasing, recipes, scheduling, time and attendance, and integrated payroll with automated tax filing.
  • Multi-unit and franchise depth: intercompany transactions, multi-entity accounting, commissary transfers, royalty and franchise-fee management, consolidated purchasing and reporting.
  • Over 500 integration partners plus an API and bank integration.

Watch-outs

  • Australia is not mentioned on any of the sixteen pages we read. About Us describes "a national company helping customers all across the United States", the terms are governed by California law, and the sales line is a US number.
  • The payroll is built around US federal, state and local tax with nothing on PAYG, superannuation, Fair Work awards or Single Touch Payroll — so the module that justifies much of the price does not apply here.
  • No price, currency or per-location rate is published anywhere, and there is no free trial. Implementation is a project of weeks, and its own FAQ notes a learning curve for non-finance staff.
  • Every named distributor and most named POS systems are American.

Pricing: Not published. The pricing page describes four modules and offers a custom quote with no figures, no currency and no per-location rate. The only published prices on the site are inside AP Automation: virtual-card payments at $0 and Positive Pay at "no cost to add it on".

What we left off, and why

An alternatives list is only as good as the things it refuses to include. These came up and did not make it.

  • xtraCHEF by Toast[15]

    Toast’s own support article states that xtraCHEF "is exclusively available in the US and is not available for customers in Australia, Canada, Ireland, or the UK", and it is sold as an add-on to Toast POS, which is not sold here. An Australian venue cannot buy it, so it does not belong on an Australian shortlist however often it appears on overseas ones.

  • Craftable[16]

    A capable US back-office platform for restaurants and hotels, but it publishes no Australian presence of any kind — its About page lists one office, in Farmers Branch, Texas, there is no Australian page or phone number, its demo form has no country field at all, and there is no pricing page in any currency. There is nothing here an Australian buyer can check.

  • Nutritics (and Kitchen CUT)[17]

    A different product. Nutritics sells recipe, allergen, nutrition and menu-data management rather than supplier ordering and invoice-driven costing — which makes it a genuinely good answer to a labelling problem and the wrong answer to a purchasing one. Its enquiry forms do list Australia as a country, but it publishes no Australian office, no phone number and no price in any currency. Kitchen CUT is not mentioned anywhere on the Nutritics site.

  • Sculpture Hospitality[18]

    This one is genuinely available here — its own directory lists consultants with Australian mobile numbers in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, the ACT, Perth, the Gold Coast and the Sunshine Coast. We have left it off because it is a consultant-delivered stocktake service rather than software you subscribe to and run: only the Self Service tier carries a published figure, "$250, Starting at" with no currency stated, and the other two tiers are "Custom — Varies upon location". If a person doing your beverage counts is what you actually want, it is worth a call — it is just not the same purchase.

What switching actually involves

We will not promise a timeline. It depends on the size of your catalogue and how fast your customers move across, and the second of those is not something any vendor controls.

  1. Start with a month of invoices, not with the recipe book. Whichever platform you pick, the products, suppliers and prices build themselves out of the invoices, and every number after that depends on them being right.
  2. Get your recipes out of MarketMan before you cancel. The costed recipe library is the thing that took longest to build and the thing you will not want to rebuild by hand — export it, check the yields and sub-recipes came with it, and keep a copy outside any platform.
  3. Do not renegotiate your supplier accounts as part of a software change. Two disruptions at once is how a venue ends up unable to tell whether the platform helped or the new supplier hurt.
  4. Cost ten dishes both ways. Run the new system alongside for a fortnight and compare its dish costs against the ones you believe are true. Where they disagree it is almost always the invoice that is right, and finding that out on ten dishes is cheaper than finding it out on a menu.
  5. Turn the POS import on last, once the recipes are costed and you trust the numbers — and if a platform cannot name your till, settle that before you sign rather than after.

For a row-by-row comparison of Open Pantry and MarketMan specifically, with the same sourcing rules, read the full head-to-head comparison.

MarketMan alternatives — common questions

Is MarketMan available in Australia?

MarketMan does not say. It publishes no Australian page, office, phone number, currency or distributor, lists its operational hubs as North America, Europe and the Middle East, and gives contact numbers for the United States, United Kingdom and Germany only. More pointedly, its pricing page states that vendor EDI integrations are "US, CA, and UK only", and vendor EDI is the mechanism most of its automation rests on. It claims customers in over 55 countries, so ask them directly rather than assuming either way. Verified 3 September 2026.

What is the best MarketMan alternative for an Australian restaurant?

It depends on which half of MarketMan you were buying. If it was invoice-to-cost automation with a till that is actually named, Restoke is the closest fit and prices in Australian dollars ex GST. If it was purchasing and you also want new suppliers, FoodByUs is an Australian marketplace with a genuinely free tier, currently covering New South Wales and Victoria. If you want to keep the supplier accounts you already have, order across all of them for nothing, and pay once rather than monthly for costing, that is Open Pantry — ours, so weigh it accordingly. If you are a group of five or more sites with central production, Apicbase is built for that shape, with the caveat that its integrations are stated for the UK, EU and US.

Which MarketMan alternatives actually operate in Australia?

Three of the five on this page. Restoke publishes prices in AUD ex GST and names the Australian POS bench including H&L, OrderMate, Impos, Idealpos, SwiftPOS, Redcat, Tyro and Oolio. FoodByUs is Australian, governed by New South Wales law, with a supplier directory covering NSW and Victoria. Open Pantry is Australian and New Zealand only. Apicbase publishes two offices — Antwerp and New York — and states supplier and POS integrations for the UK, EU and US; Australia appears on one page of its site, about allergen labelling. Restaurant365 does not mention Australia on any page we read, and its payroll is built around US federal, state and local tax.

Is there a free alternative to MarketMan?

Yes, two with a genuinely free entry point. FoodByUs publishes a Free plan at $0 that includes marketplace ordering, price tracking, its AI Invoice Hub and cashbacks, with paid tiers at $99 and $149 a month. Open Pantry — ours — is free for a venue to order with, unlimited orders across unlimited suppliers, with Menu Profit Manager a one-off $199 rather than a subscription. MarketMan publishes no free plan and no self-serve trial: every call to action is a booked demo.

What does MarketMan cost, and what does it not include?

Its pricing page publishes Starter $249 a month, Growth $299 and Enterprise from $449, with no currency stated anywhere on the site — and its own home and partners pages simultaneously advertise $199 / $249 / Custom with a different feature split, so confirm which applies to you. Below Enterprise, email invoice scanning, advanced reports and API access are add-ons; the API is read-only and metered at $25 to $199 a month by location count; the commissary module is separate at $499 or $749 a month; and Starter caps invoice scanning at 50 a month.

Can I keep my existing suppliers if I move off MarketMan?

That depends entirely on which platform you move to, and it is the question worth asking first. Open Pantry is built on the assumption that the supplier accounts and negotiated prices are yours: you add a supplier yourself and order across all of them in one round, and we sell you nothing. Restoke sends purchase orders to your own suppliers by email or SMS. FoodByUs lets you add your own suppliers as Direct Suppliers, though that takes 24 to 48 hours, needs a prior relationship, and those suppliers invoice you outside the platform. Apicbase has outlets order from suppliers directly but its automatic price updates depend on integrated catalogues, which it states for the UK, EU and US.

Do any of these handle multiple venues the way MarketMan’s HQ does?

Not in the same way, and we would rather be plain about it. MarketMan’s HQ layer gives corporate control of pricing and approved supplier lists across locations, with franchise reporting. Apicbase and Restaurant365 both do a version of that at group level. Restoke puts multi-venue management on its Pro tier and a Headquarters module on Enterprise. Open Pantry deliberately does not: each venue keeps its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history so one site cannot contaminate another’s numbers, and we have no group price lists and no group purchase approvals. Groups run as per-venue licences. If group-level control is the thing you are buying, say so on the call and we will tell you if we are wrong for you.

How often is this page checked, and what if something is wrong?

Every claim about another company comes from that company’s own published pages, opened on the verification date at the top, and the page is re-checked quarterly. Where something is not published we write "not stated publicly" rather than treating silence as absence. Software changes faster than comparison pages do — if a claim here is wrong or out of date, including if you work for one of these companies, tell us and we will correct it.

Sources

Every claim about another company on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. If something is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.

  1. MarketMan — Pricing (plans, add-ons, vendor EDI regions, invoice scan limits) https://www.marketman.com/pricing-for-restaurant-inventory-management-system (accessed 3 September 2026)
  2. MarketMan — About us (operational hubs, contact numbers, scale) https://www.marketman.com/about-us (accessed 3 September 2026)
  3. MarketMan — Restaurant purchasing and order management (par levels, cut-offs, integrated vendors) https://www.marketman.com/platform/restaurant-purchasing-software-and-order-management (accessed 3 September 2026)
  4. MarketMan — Accounts payable automation (invoice OCR, PO matching, credit memos) https://www.marketman.com/platform/marketman-accounts-payable-automation (accessed 3 September 2026)
  5. Open Pantry — Restaurant pricing and plans https://www.theopenpantry.com/restaurants/pricing (accessed 3 September 2026)
  6. Open Pantry — Menu Profit Manager https://www.theopenpantry.com/menuprofitmanager (accessed 3 September 2026)
  7. Restoke — Pricing (AUD ex GST, per site, Essentials and Pro feature split) https://restoke.ai/pricing (accessed 3 September 2026)
  8. Restoke — Integrations (POS, accounting and rostering systems named) https://restoke.ai/integrations (accessed 3 September 2026)
  9. FoodByUs — Pricing (Free, Essential, Premium and the 90-day premium trial) https://www.foodbyus.com.au/pricing/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  10. FoodByUs — Direct Suppliers (adding your own suppliers, separate invoicing) https://www.foodbyus.com.au/help-topic/direct-suppliers/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  11. Apicbase — Pricing plans (five-outlet floor, add-ons, annual billing) https://get.apicbase.com/pricing-plans/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  12. Apicbase — Procurement management (three-way matching, supplier integration regions) https://get.apicbase.com/procurement-management/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  13. Restaurant365 — Pricing (modules described, no figures published) https://www.restaurant365.com/pricing/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  14. Restaurant365 — About us (United States positioning, offices) https://www.restaurant365.com/about-us/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  15. Toast — xtraCHEF 101 support article ("exclusively available in the US and is not available for customers in Australia") https://support.toasttab.com/en/article/xtraCHEF-101 (accessed 3 September 2026)
  16. Craftable — About us (single listed office, Farmers Branch, Texas) https://craftable.com/about-us (accessed 3 September 2026)
  17. Nutritics — Pricing (enquiry form, no figures in any currency) https://www.nutritics.com/en/pricing/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  18. Sculpture Hospitality — Pricing (Self Service from $250, Shared and Full Service "Custom — Varies upon location") https://www.sculpturehospitality.com/sculpture-hospitality-pricing (accessed 3 September 2026)

See it costed on your own invoices

Send us a month of your own supplier invoices and we will show you your dish costs and your price movements on your own numbers — not a demo menu. And if another platform on this page fits you better, we will say so.