Open Pantry vs Restaurant365: which is right for your venue?

For restaurantsLast verified 3 September 2026Australia · New Zealand

The short answer

These are not really the same product. Restaurant365 is a United States restaurant enterprise system — a restaurant general ledger, AP automation, inventory, scheduling and full US payroll with tax filing — sold to multi-unit groups without a published price. Open Pantry is an Australian venue tool: free ordering across the suppliers you already have, invoices read into live recipe costs, price-spike alerts, inventory, stocktakes, waste and prep lists. The deciding fact for an Australian reader is that Restaurant365 never mentions Australia. Its own site calls it a national company serving the United States, its terms are governed by California law, and its payroll is federal, state and local US tax.

Choose Open Pantry if…

  • You are in Australia or New Zealand. Restaurant365 publishes no Australian office, currency, phone number, distributor or POS partner, and describes its own market as the United States.
  • You want a published price and a way to start today rather than a custom quote and a multi-week implementation.
  • The problem is dish cost and supplier prices, not the general ledger — you already have an accountant and Xero, QuickBooks or MYOB, and you want invoices pushed into it rather than replaced by it.
  • You order from the suppliers who already deliver to you, rather than from Sysco, US Foods or McLane.

Choose Restaurant365 if…

  • You operate in the United States and want the restaurant accounting, not just the food cost — a restaurant chart of accounts, automated journal entries, bank reconciliation and consolidated multi-entity financials.
  • You want scheduling, time and attendance, tips and a full payroll that files US federal, state and local tax in the same system as the food cost.
  • You run a franchise group and need intercompany transactions, royalty and franchise-fee management, and consolidated financials across entities.
  • Accounts payable is the workload: invoice capture with multi-level approvals, duplicate and discrepancy detection, vendor payments with rebates and a virtual card.

Open Pantry and Restaurant365 at a glance

Every Restaurant365 cell below is footnoted to a dated source at the foot of this page. Where a capability is not described on Restaurant365’s own site we mark it partial and say so — that means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.

CapabilityOpen PantryRestaurant365
Ordering from your suppliersYesOne cart across every supplier you already buy from, split into one order per supplier when you send it, with recurring orders and pantry lists. Free for the venue.YesPurchase orders built from current inventory, forecasts and par levels, with order guides and shopping lists, ordering direct to "major food and beverage distributors" and EDI, and receiving that syncs to inventory.[5]
Keeping your own supplier accounts and pricesYesYou keep your own supplier accounts and your own negotiated prices, and you can add a supplier yourself. Open Pantry is not a marketplace and sells you nothing.PartialVendor integration is a core capability, but every named vendor partner is a United States distributor — Sysco, McLane, Cintas, Coca-Cola. No Australian supplier or wholesaler is listed anywhere. Whether an Australian supplier can be connected is not stated publicly.[9]
Supplier invoice capture and automatic price updatesYesPhotograph, upload or email invoices to your own address; suppliers, products and prices appear, and every price change flows into your recipe costs. Up to 250 invoices a month on Menu Profit Manager.YesInvoices auto-captured, coded and routed, with OCR and a human review step for unreadable documents, vendors able to submit invoices directly, mobile upload, multi-level approvals, duplicate and discrepancy alerts and auto-applied credit memos — posting straight to the general ledger.[3]
Price-change alertsYesPrice-spike alerts that name which dishes the rise hurts and what to charge instead, with every change shown old to new as a percentage.YesPrice-spike alerts are a named inventory capability, alongside waste alerts.[4]
Recipe and menu costingYesRecipes costed from the prices you actually paid, sub-recipes rolling up, and dishes re-costing themselves when a supplier price moves.YesCosted recipes with real-time ingredient pricing, batch and sub-recipes, yield tracking for trim and prep loss, unit-of-measure conversion, and a central update that propagates to every connected dish and location.[6]
Live profit per dishYesA cost percentage and trend on every dish, with margins ranked into top earners and the ones that need attention.YesMenu engineering plus actual-versus-theoretical variance in a unified report across sales, inventory, recipes and purchasing, with daily profit-and-loss snapshots on mobile.[4]
Inventory and stocktakesYesBalance, par level and trigger per product by storage area, guided stocktakes in the unit you buy with barcode or manual counting, and the count becomes live stock. Restaurant Pro Suite.YesReal-time cost of goods and variance by location or concept, mobile counts with several people counting at once, and transfer tracking.[4]
Waste trackingYesWrite-offs logged with a reason and a reporter, costed and split by reason, menu, item and employee, with stocktake variances in the same report.YesWaste identified through actual-versus-theoretical variance and over-portioning detection; the inventory page claims it helped operators cut nearly $400M in food waste in 2024.[5]
Preparation listsYesPreparation lists that turn portions to make into the ingredients still to buy and put them in the cart, with projected cost and profit.PartialPurchase orders can be built from forecasts and par levels, and a commissary module handles central production. A daily preparation list that converts portions to make into ingredients still to buy is not described publicly — confirm with vendor.[5]
Delivery check-off and credit claimsYesCheck the delivery off at the door and the invoice is matched line by line against what arrived; a shortfall becomes a credit request your supplier can see.YesReceiving syncs to inventory, invoices are matched with discrepancy alerts, and credit memos are raised for shorted or incorrect items.[5]
POS sales integrationPartialOne till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — pulling the day’s takings through automatically, matched to your recipes and never written back. It is set up per venue rather than self-serve. Every other till uses a bulk sales-template import or manual entry, which lands in the same table. Waste is logged in Open Pantry rather than imported from the till.YesPOS integration pulls sales, inventory, labour and payment data, with Aloha, Clover, Square, Agilysys, Aldelo, Appetize, CAKE and others named among 500+ partners. The named list is United States systems.[9]
Accounting integrationYesReviewed invoices land in Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB as bills, so nothing is entered twice.YesIt is the accounting system: a restaurant-specific general ledger and chart of accounts, automated journal entries, daily sales and bank reconciliation and real-time financials, rather than a sync to one.[2]
Multi-venue and group controlPartialEach venue keeps its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history, which is deliberate — two sites cannot share a wrong number. There is no group catalogue, no group price list and no group purchase approval; a group is handled as per-venue licences.YesConsolidated purchasing, inventory and reporting across units, standardised recipes and portions, a commissary with transfers and third-party sales, intercompany transactions, multi-entity accounting, royalty and franchise-fee management and consolidated financials.[5]
Nutrition and allergen labellingNoAllergens and dietary tags are fields on the recipe card for your own kitchen. There is no nutrition panel and no compliance labelling.PartialNutrition panels and compliance allergen labelling are not described on the pages read. Not stated publicly — confirm with vendor.[1]
Rostering, payroll and restaurant accountingNoNo rostering, no payroll and no general ledger. Reviewed invoices are pushed into the accounting system you already run; the reporting stops at sales, cost of goods, waste and dish margin.YesThe clearest difference on this page. Drag-and-drop and AI scheduling from sales history and labour rules, forecasting, shift swaps, time and attendance, tip automation and training, plus integrated payroll with automated tax calculation and filing at United States federal, state and local level.[8]
Published pricingYesOrdering is free for the venue. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month.NoNo pricing is published at all — four module descriptions and a request-a-quote button, with no figures, no currency, no tiers and no per-location rate. The only published prices are inside AP Automation: virtual-card payments at "$0" and Positive Pay at no extra cost.[1]
Free planYesOrdering package at $0 with unlimited orders and unlimited suppliers, opened by a supplier invitation.NoNo free plan and no free trial is published. The only route is a demo request, and implementation is described as taking a few weeks, with some going live in about 30 days.[3]
Australian presenceYesAustralia and New Zealand, priced per country, with Australian support.NoAustralia is not mentioned on any page read. Its about page describes it as "a national company helping customers all across the United States", headquartered in Irvine, California; its terms are governed by California law with arbitration in California; its payroll is United States federal, state and local tax; its sales line is a United States number and its apps link to the United States App Store. No supported-country list and no supported currency are published either way.[10]

Open Pantry capabilities are from our own published plans and feature pages. Restaurant365 capabilities are from its own published pages, read on 3 September 2026.

Everything Open Pantry runs

Restaurant365 is an accounting platform that also does food cost. Open Pantry is the other way round, and it stops where your accountant starts. This is exactly what it covers for a venue, with the page behind each line, so you can see what is and is not in scope before comparing quotes.

Ordering from the suppliers you already use

One order round, every supplier
One cart across all of them, split into one order per supplier when you send it.
Pantry and preparation lists
The order the venue owns rather than one person’s memory, and prep lists that turn portions into a shopping list.
Recurring orders
The weekly order that places itself, on a 7, 14 or 28 day cycle.
Purchase history and price movements
What you bought, what you paid, and every price change old to new with the dishes it hit.

Knowing what a dish costs

Live recipe and menu costing
Recipes costed off the prices you actually paid; sub-recipes roll up; dishes re-cost when a supplier moves.
Profit insights per dish
A cost percentage and trend on every dish, and margins ranked into earners and problems.
Menu Profit Manager
Invoice scanning, recipe import and price-spike alerts — $199 once, lifetime, 30-day money-back guarantee.

Knowing what you are holding

Inventory
Balance, par level and trigger per product by storage area, with autofill-to-par building the order.
Stocktaking
Guided counts in the unit you buy, barcode or manual, and the count becomes live stock.
Sales and waste tracking
Waste logged with a reason and a reporter, costed and split by reason, menu, item and person.
POS sales integration
One till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — and syncs the day’s takings against your recipes; any other till uses a template import or manual entry. Waste is logged here rather than pulled from the till.

See every supplier feature →

Where each one is stronger

Neither product wins on every row, and a comparison that says otherwise is not worth reading.

Open Pantry is stronger at

  • Being sold in Australia at all. Australian and New Zealand suppliers, Australian dollars, Australian support and a published price — against a platform whose own site describes its market as the United States and never mentions Australia.
  • The cost and speed of starting. Ordering is free, Menu Profit Manager is $199 once with a 30-day money-back guarantee, and a month of photographed invoices gets you costed dishes the same day — against a custom quote and a multi-week implementation.
  • Not replacing your accountant. Reviewed invoices are pushed into the Xero, QuickBooks or MYOB you already run, rather than moving your general ledger onto a new platform.
  • Closing the loop on a short delivery at the door — check-off, line-by-line invoice matching, and a credit claim raised to the supplier from the same screen.

Restaurant365 is stronger at

  • It is a restaurant accounting system, which Open Pantry is not and does not try to be: a restaurant chart of accounts, automated journal entries, bank reconciliation, multi-entity consolidation and franchise royalties.
  • Labour. Scheduling, forecasting, time and attendance, tips, training and full payroll with automated United States tax filing — Open Pantry does not touch labour at all.
  • Accounts payable depth: multi-level approval workflows, duplicate and discrepancy detection, vendor payments with rebates and a virtual card at no cost.
  • Multi-unit and franchise scale, with 500+ integration partners including United States distributors, POS systems and banks.

What each one costs

Open Pantry

Ordering is free for the venue — unlimited orders, unlimited suppliers, pantry lists and standing orders. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month and adds automated inventory and stocktake, automated ordering, POS integration and the sales, cost, waste, stocktake and variance reporting.

See supplier plans and pricing →

Restaurant365

Nothing is published. The pricing page carries four module descriptions — Accounting, Inventory & Purchasing, Workforce Management, Payroll & HR — and a "Get a Custom Quote" button, with no figures, no currency, no tier table and no per-location rate. No free trial is offered; the only entry point is a demo request, and implementation is described as usually taking a few weeks. The only two published prices on the site are inside AP Automation: virtual-card payments at "$0" and Positive Pay at no cost to add.

Source: Restaurant365 — Pricing (no figures published) · verified 3 September 2026

Switching from Restaurant365 to Open Pantry

What the move actually involves. We do not promise a timeline — it depends on the size of your catalogue and how quickly your customers move across.

  1. Start with the invoices, not the recipes. Photograph or email a month of supplier invoices and the products, suppliers and prices build themselves — that is the data every other number depends on.
  2. Import the recipe book. Photograph the pages or upload the spreadsheet; recipes come in costed against the prices those invoices just loaded.
  3. Keep ordering the way you do now. Your supplier accounts and negotiated prices are yours and stay yours — nothing is renegotiated and no order is routed through a marketplace.
  4. Turn the till on last. POS sales import is a settings step once the recipes are costed and you trust the numbers.
  5. Run the old way alongside for a fortnight. Compare the dish costs the system produces against the ones you believe. Where they disagree it is almost always the invoice that is right.

Who uses Open Pantry

Venues ordering through it
5,000+
Suppliers on Open Pantry
600+
Markets served
AU & NZ

Open Pantry vs Restaurant365 — common questions

Is Restaurant365 available in Australia?

Restaurant365 does not say, and everything it does publish points at the United States. Its about page calls it "a national company helping customers all across the United States"; its terms of use are governed by California law with arbitration in California and describe the service under the US Federal Arbitration Act; its payroll handles federal, state and local tax; its sales number is American and its mobile apps link to the United States App Store. Australia is not mentioned on any of the sixteen pages we read, and no supported-country list or supported currency is published either way. Ask them directly. Verified 3 September 2026.

What does Restaurant365 cost?

It does not publish a price. Its pricing page has no figures, no currency, no tiers and no per-location rate — only four module descriptions and a custom-quote button. There is no free trial. Implementation is described as usually taking a few weeks, with some restaurants live in about 30 days. For comparison, Open Pantry publishes free ordering, Menu Profit Manager at $199 AUD once with a refund guarantee, and Restaurant Pro Suite at $250 a month.

Do I need Restaurant365 if I already have an accountant and Xero?

That is the real question, and for most Australian venues the answer is no. Restaurant365 replaces your general ledger — it is a restaurant accounting system that also does food cost. Open Pantry does the food cost and pushes reviewed supplier invoices into the Xero, QuickBooks or MYOB you already run, as bills, so nothing is entered twice and your accountant keeps working the way they do now.

Which one handles rostering and payroll?

Restaurant365, and it is not close. It publishes AI scheduling from sales history and labour rules, forecasting, shift swaps, time and attendance, tip automation, training and an integrated payroll that calculates and files United States federal, state and local tax. Open Pantry does not touch labour at all — no rostering, no payroll and no labour percentage. If you want food and labour in one system, Restaurant365 is the answer, in the United States.

Which is better for a group of venues?

Restaurant365, on published capability: consolidated purchasing and reporting across units, standardised recipes and portions, a commissary with transfers, intercompany transactions, multi-entity accounting and franchise royalty management. Open Pantry deliberately keeps each venue separate — its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history — and has no group catalogue, group price list or group approval. A group is handled as per-venue licences.

Can I order from my own Australian suppliers on either?

On Open Pantry, yes — you keep your own supplier accounts and your own negotiated prices and order across all of them in one round. Restaurant365 orders direct to "major food and beverage distributors" and by EDI, but every distributor it names is American: Sysco, McLane, Cintas, Coca-Cola. Whether an Australian supplier can be connected is not stated publicly.

How often is this comparison checked, and what if something is wrong?

Every Restaurant365 claim here comes from Restaurant365’s own published pages on the verification date at the top, and the page is re-checked quarterly. Anything marked "not stated publicly" means we could not confirm it from their site — treat it as a question for them, not a verdict. If you think something here is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.

Sources

Every Restaurant365 claim on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their prices; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.

  1. Restaurant365 — Pricing (no figures published) https://www.restaurant365.com/pricing/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  2. Restaurant365 — Restaurant accounting https://www.restaurant365.com/accounting/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  3. Restaurant365 — AP automation (invoice capture, approvals, vendor payments) https://www.restaurant365.com/accounting/ap-automation/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  4. Restaurant365 — Inventory management https://www.restaurant365.com/inventory/inventory-management/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  5. Restaurant365 — Purchasing and receiving https://www.restaurant365.com/inventory/purchasing-receiving/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  6. Restaurant365 — Recipes and menu engineering https://www.restaurant365.com/inventory/recipes/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  7. Restaurant365 — Workforce management https://www.restaurant365.com/workforce/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  8. Restaurant365 — Payroll (United States federal, state and local tax) https://www.restaurant365.com/payroll-hr/payroll/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  9. Restaurant365 — Partner ecosystem (POS, distributor and bank integrations) https://www.restaurant365.com/partner-ecosystem/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  10. Restaurant365 — About us (offices and market) https://www.restaurant365.com/about-us/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  11. Restaurant365 — Terms of use (governing law and jurisdiction) https://www.restaurant365.com/terms/ (accessed 3 September 2026)
  12. Open Pantry — Restaurant pricing and plans https://www.theopenpantry.com/restaurants/pricing (accessed 3 September 2026)

See it costed on your own invoices

Send us a month of your own supplier invoices and we will show you your dish costs and your price movements on your own numbers — not a demo menu.