Open Pantry vs MarketMan: which is right for your venue?

For restaurantsLast verified 3 September 2026Australia · New Zealand

The short answer

MarketMan is a mature American back-of-house system: inventory, purchasing, invoice OCR and actual-versus-theoretical variance, built around vendor EDI with the large US distributors. Open Pantry is built for an Australian venue and starts from the suppliers you already buy from — free ordering across all of them, invoices photographed into live recipe costs, price-spike alerts naming the dishes they hurt, then inventory, stocktakes, waste and prep lists on top. The deciding fact is geography: MarketMan states its vendor EDI is US, Canada and UK only, publishes no Australian office, price or currency, and prices from $249 a month with no free plan.

Choose Open Pantry if…

  • You are in Australia or New Zealand. Ordering, pricing, support and the suppliers themselves are all local, and Menu Profit Manager is priced in Australian dollars.
  • You want to keep the supplier accounts and negotiated prices you already have, and order across all of them in one round rather than through a distributor integration.
  • You want to start for nothing and find out whether the numbers help before committing — ordering is free, and Menu Profit Manager is $199 once with a 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Your problem is the gap between the price you were quoted and the price on the invoice: check the delivery off at the door, have the invoice matched line by line, and raise the credit claim from the same screen.

Choose MarketMan if…

  • You operate in the United States, Canada or the United Kingdom and buy from Sysco, US Foods, Performance Foodservice or Gordon Food Service — its vendor EDI is stated for those regions and those distributors.
  • You run a multi-unit group and want a corporate HQ layer that controls pricing and approved supplier lists across every location, plus a commissary module.
  • Actual-versus-theoretical variance is the number you manage the business on, and you want it on every tier.
  • You take a lot of handwritten invoices — its OCR is stated to read printed and handwritten alike.

Open Pantry and MarketMan at a glance

Every MarketMan cell below is footnoted to a dated source at the foot of this page. Where a capability is not described on MarketMan’s own site we mark it partial and say so — that means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.

CapabilityOpen PantryMarketMan
Ordering from your suppliersYesOne cart across every supplier you already buy from, split into one order per supplier when you send it, with recurring orders and pantry lists. Free for the venue.YesPurchase orders raised on web or mobile with par levels, purchasing budgets, price limits, delivery days and cut-off times, plus one-click fill-to-par. Orders go directly to integrated vendors; how they reach a supplier that is not integrated is not stated publicly.[3]
Keeping your own supplier accounts and pricesYesYou keep your own supplier accounts and your own negotiated prices, and you can add a supplier yourself. Open Pantry is not a marketplace and sells you nothing.PartialSupplier catalogues are managed in the platform and integrated vendors push price and product updates into it, but vendor EDI is stated as "US, CA, and UK only" and every named integrated distributor is North American or British. Whether an Australian supplier can be connected is not stated publicly.[1]
Supplier invoice capture and automatic price updatesYesPhotograph, upload or email invoices to your own address; suppliers, products and prices appear, and every price change flows into your recipe costs. Up to 250 invoices a month on Menu Profit Manager.YesOCR of printed and handwritten invoices, matched against the original purchase order with discrepancies flagged and credit memos handled, feeding costing automatically. Capped at 50 scans a month on the entry plan; email-forward scanning is Enterprise only.[5]
Price-change alertsYesPrice-spike alerts that name which dishes the rise hurts and what to charge instead, with every change shown old to new as a percentage.YesPrice tracking with alerts on every tier, an alert when a price change pushes menu profitability past a threshold you set, and an irregular price report flagging supplier increases.[4]
Recipe and menu costingYesRecipes costed from the prices you actually paid, sub-recipes rolling up, and dishes re-costing themselves when a supplier price moves.YesCost per portion from live ingredient prices, with sub-recipes, modifiers and portion-level tracking, a central recipe library across locations, and recalculation when a new invoice or price lands.[4]
Live profit per dishYesA cost percentage and trend on every dish, with margins ranked into top earners and the ones that need attention.YesA menu profitability report showing food cost and profitability per item, plus gross profit and COGS reports that update as ingredients are received.[4]
Inventory and stocktakesYesBalance, par level and trigger per product by storage area, guided stocktakes in the unit you buy with barcode or manual counting, and the count becomes live stock. Restaurant Pro Suite.YesReal-time inventory from purchase orders, POS sell-through and manual counts, with mobile counts that sync when connectivity returns, partial counts, count schedules and inter-location transfers.[2]
Waste trackingYesWrite-offs logged with a reason and a reporter, costed and split by reason, menu, item and employee, with stocktake variances in the same report.YesWaste logging and reporting on every tier, with actual-versus-theoretical variance used to surface waste, theft and over-portioning.[2]
Preparation listsYesPreparation lists that turn portions to make into the ingredients still to buy and put them in the cart, with projected cost and profit.PartialOrder-by-recipe and predictive "Smart Ordering" forecast what to buy. A preparation list that converts portions to make into the ingredients still to buy is not described publicly — confirm with vendor.[1]
Delivery check-off and credit claimsYesCheck the delivery off at the door and the invoice is matched line by line against what arrived; a shortfall becomes a credit request your supplier can see.PartialReceiving matches the invoice against the purchase order, flags discrepancies and handles credit memos. A delivery check-off done on a phone at the door, and a credit claim raised back to the supplier from it, are not described publicly.[5]
POS sales integrationPartialOne till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — pulling the day’s takings through automatically, matched to your recipes and never written back. It is set up per venue rather than self-serve. Every other till uses a bulk sales-template import or manual entry, which lands in the same table. Waste is logged in Open Pantry rather than imported from the till.YesA long named list including Square, Toast, Lightspeed, Clover, TouchBistro, Aloha/NCR, Micros, Revel, Shift4, Silverware, Lavu, Qu and Redcat.[6]
Accounting integrationYesReviewed invoices land in Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB as bills, so nothing is entered twice.YesQuickBooks and Xero named, with approved invoices and payment records syncing across.[1]
Multi-venue and group controlPartialEach venue keeps its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history, which is deliberate — two sites cannot share a wrong number. There is no group catalogue, no group price list and no group purchase approval; a group is handled as per-venue licences.YesAn HQ account for centralised management, per-location and franchise-group reporting, corporate control of pricing and approved supplier lists, and a commissary module for central production — charged separately at $499 or $749 a month.[1]
Nutrition and allergen labellingNoAllergens and dietary tags are fields on the recipe card for your own kitchen. There is no nutrition panel and no compliance labelling.PartialNutrition panels and compliance allergen labelling are not described on its published platform pages. Not stated publicly — confirm with vendor.[1]
Rostering, payroll and restaurant accountingNoNo rostering, no payroll and no general ledger. Reviewed invoices are pushed into the accounting system you already run; the reporting stops at sales, cost of goods, waste and dish margin.NoMarketMan is back-of-house inventory and purchasing. Rostering, payroll and a general ledger are not part of it; accounting is an integration to QuickBooks or Xero.[1]
Published pricingYesOrdering is free for the venue. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month.PartialStarter $249 a month, Growth $299, Enterprise from $449, with API access, advanced reports, email invoice scanning and the commissary module all priced as add-ons. No currency is stated anywhere on the site, and the home and partners pages simultaneously advertise $199 / $249 / Custom — two different price lists are live at once.[1]
Free planYesOrdering package at $0 with unlimited orders and unlimited suppliers, opened by a supplier invitation.NoNo free plan and no self-serve trial is published; every call to action is a booked demo. A site-wide banner offers free set-up "($1,500 Value)" with a demo, but no standard set-up fee is published.[1]
Australian presenceYesAustralia and New Zealand, priced per country, with Australian support.PartialOperational hubs are listed as North America, Europe and the Middle East, with phone contacts for the United States, United Kingdom and Germany only, and no Australian page, office, currency or distributor. Vendor EDI is stated as US, Canada and UK only. Whether it is sold or supported in Australia is not stated publicly.[7]

Open Pantry capabilities are from our own published plans and feature pages. MarketMan capabilities are from its own published pages, read on 3 September 2026.

Everything Open Pantry runs

MarketMan is an inventory and purchasing system that assumes your distributors are integrated with it. Open Pantry starts one step earlier, with the suppliers you already have and the invoices they send you. This is everything it does for a venue, with the page behind each one.

Ordering from the suppliers you already use

One order round, every supplier
One cart across all of them, split into one order per supplier when you send it.
Pantry and preparation lists
The order the venue owns rather than one person’s memory, and prep lists that turn portions into a shopping list.
Recurring orders
The weekly order that places itself, on a 7, 14 or 28 day cycle.
Purchase history and price movements
What you bought, what you paid, and every price change old to new with the dishes it hit.

Knowing what a dish costs

Live recipe and menu costing
Recipes costed off the prices you actually paid; sub-recipes roll up; dishes re-cost when a supplier moves.
Profit insights per dish
A cost percentage and trend on every dish, and margins ranked into earners and problems.
Menu Profit Manager
Invoice scanning, recipe import and price-spike alerts — $199 once, lifetime, 30-day money-back guarantee.

Knowing what you are holding

Inventory
Balance, par level and trigger per product by storage area, with autofill-to-par building the order.
Stocktaking
Guided counts in the unit you buy, barcode or manual, and the count becomes live stock.
Sales and waste tracking
Waste logged with a reason and a reporter, costed and split by reason, menu, item and person.
POS sales integration
One till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — and syncs the day’s takings against your recipes; any other till uses a template import or manual entry. Waste is logged here rather than pulled from the till.

See every supplier feature →

Where each one is stronger

Neither product wins on every row, and a comparison that says otherwise is not worth reading.

Open Pantry is stronger at

  • Being here. Australian and New Zealand suppliers, Australian dollars, Australian support, and ordering that works with the suppliers already delivering to your door rather than with a distributor EDI network that MarketMan states covers the US, Canada and the UK.
  • The cost of finding out. Ordering is free, and Menu Profit Manager is $199 once with a 30-day money-back guarantee, against $249 a month with no free plan and no self-serve trial.
  • Closing the loop on a short delivery: check it off at the door, have the invoice matched line by line against what arrived, and raise the credit claim to the supplier from the same screen.
  • Preparation lists that turn tomorrow’s portions into the ingredients you still need to buy and put them in the cart.

MarketMan is stronger at

  • Vendor EDI depth with the large US distributors — Sysco, US Foods, Performance Foodservice, Gordon Food Service and national buying groups — so prices, orders and invoices move without anyone typing.
  • A named POS list dozens long. Open Pantry connects directly to exactly one till, Triniteq PowerEPOS, and everything else comes in by template import — so if a proven integration with your specific system decides it, this row still favours MarketMan.
  • Corporate multi-unit control: an HQ layer over pricing and approved supplier lists across every location, franchise-group reporting and a commissary module. Open Pantry deliberately keeps each venue separate and has no group catalogue or group approvals.
  • Invoice OCR that reads handwriting as well as print, at unlimited volume above the entry tier.

What each one costs

Open Pantry

Ordering is free for the venue — unlimited orders, unlimited suppliers, pantry lists and standing orders, opened by a supplier invitation. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee, and covers invoice scanning up to 250 invoices a month, recipe import, live costing, margins and price-spike alerts. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month and adds automated inventory and stocktake, automated ordering, POS integration and the sales, cost, waste, stocktake and variance reporting.

See supplier plans and pricing →

MarketMan

Three published plans: Starter $249 a month, Growth $299 a month and Enterprise from $449 a month. Advanced reports, email invoice scanning and API access are add-ons below Enterprise, API is $25 to $199 a month depending on location count, and the commissary module is a separate $499 or $749 a month. No currency is stated anywhere. Note that the home and partners pages advertise Starter $199 and Growth $249 with a different feature split at the same time as the pricing page shows $249 and $299 — establish which applies before signing. There is no free plan and no self-serve trial; implementation is a guided two-to-four-week onboarding.

Source: MarketMan — Pricing (plans, add-ons, vendor EDI regions, invoice scan limits) · verified 3 September 2026

Switching from MarketMan to Open Pantry

What the move actually involves. We do not promise a timeline — it depends on the size of your catalogue and how quickly your customers move across.

  1. Start with the invoices, not the recipes. Photograph or email a month of supplier invoices and the products, suppliers and prices build themselves — that is the data every other number depends on.
  2. Import the recipe book. Photograph the pages or upload the spreadsheet; recipes come in costed against the prices those invoices just loaded.
  3. Keep ordering the way you do now. Your supplier accounts and negotiated prices are yours and stay yours — nothing is renegotiated and no order is routed through a marketplace.
  4. Turn the till on last. POS sales import is a settings step once the recipes are costed and you trust the numbers.
  5. Run the old way alongside for a fortnight. Compare the dish costs the system produces against the ones you believe. Where they disagree it is almost always the invoice that is right.

Who uses Open Pantry

Venues ordering through it
5,000+
Suppliers on Open Pantry
600+
Markets served
AU & NZ

Open Pantry vs MarketMan — common questions

Is MarketMan available in Australia?

MarketMan does not say. It publishes no Australian page, office, phone number, currency or distributor, and lists its operational hubs as North America, Europe and the Middle East with contact numbers for the United States, United Kingdom and Germany. More pointedly, its pricing page states that vendor EDI integrations are "US, CA, and UK only" — and vendor EDI is the mechanism much of its automation rests on. It claims customers in over 55 countries, so ask them directly rather than assuming either way. Verified 3 September 2026.

What does MarketMan cost?

Its pricing page publishes Starter at $249 a month, Growth at $299 and Enterprise from $449, with no currency stated. Advanced reports, email invoice scanning and API access are add-ons below Enterprise, and the commissary module is a separate $499 or $749 a month. Be aware that its own home and partners pages simultaneously advertise $199 / $249 / Custom with a different feature split — two price lists are live at once, so confirm which one applies to you.

Can I keep my existing suppliers with either system?

With Open Pantry, yes and that is the point — you keep your own supplier accounts and your own negotiated prices, add a supplier yourself, and order across all of them in one round. Open Pantry is not a marketplace and sells you nothing. MarketMan manages supplier catalogues inside the platform and integrated vendors push price and product updates into it, but the integrated vendors it names are North American and British, and how an order reaches a supplier that is not integrated is not described on its site.

Which one is better for a single cafe or restaurant?

On price and on getting started, Open Pantry: ordering is free, Menu Profit Manager is $199 once with a refund guarantee, and you can be costing dishes from a month of photographed invoices in an afternoon. MarketMan starts at $249 a month, publishes no free plan or self-serve trial, and runs a two-to-four-week guided onboarding even for a single site. On depth of inventory variance reporting, MarketMan is the more developed product.

Does either one integrate with my POS?

MarketMan names dozens of POS systems including Square, Toast, Lightspeed, Clover, Aloha, Micros and Redcat. Open Pantry connects directly to one — Triniteq PowerEPOS — which pulls the day’s sales through automatically against your recipes, set up per venue; every other till uses a bulk sales-template import or manual entry into the same table, and waste is logged in Open Pantry rather than imported. So on breadth of named integrations this row favours MarketMan, and if a proven connection to your specific till is what decides it, ask us about yours before you buy.

Do either of them handle rostering, payroll or restaurant accounting?

Neither. Both stop at back-of-house food costs and push invoices into an accounting system you already run — Xero, QuickBooks or MYOB for Open Pantry, QuickBooks or Xero for MarketMan. If you want scheduling, payroll and a restaurant general ledger in the same product, neither of these is the answer.

How do you manage several venues on each?

MarketMan is the stronger answer. It publishes an HQ account with corporate control of pricing and approved supplier lists, franchise-group reporting and a commissary module. Open Pantry deliberately keeps each venue separate — its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history — so two sites cannot share a wrong number, and there is no group catalogue, group price list or group purchase approval. Groups are handled as per-venue licences. If group-level control is what you are buying, say so on the call.

How often is this comparison checked, and what if something is wrong?

Every MarketMan claim here comes from MarketMan’s own published pages on the verification date at the top, and the page is re-checked quarterly. Anything marked "not stated publicly" means we could not confirm it from their site — treat it as a question for them, not a verdict. If you think something here is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.

Sources

Every MarketMan claim on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their prices; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.

  1. MarketMan — Pricing (plans, add-ons, vendor EDI regions, invoice scan limits) https://www.marketman.com/pricing-for-restaurant-inventory-management-system (accessed 3 September 2026)
  2. MarketMan — Restaurant inventory management https://www.marketman.com/platform/restaurant-inventory-management-software (accessed 3 September 2026)
  3. MarketMan — Restaurant purchasing and order management https://www.marketman.com/platform/restaurant-purchasing-software-and-order-management (accessed 3 September 2026)
  4. MarketMan — Recipe costing https://www.marketman.com/platform/recipe-costing-software (accessed 3 September 2026)
  5. MarketMan — Accounts payable automation (invoice OCR, PO matching, credit memos) https://www.marketman.com/platform/marketman-accounts-payable-automation (accessed 3 September 2026)
  6. MarketMan — Partners (POS, accounting and distributor integrations) https://www.marketman.com/partners (accessed 3 September 2026)
  7. MarketMan — About us (operational hubs and scale) https://www.marketman.com/about-us (accessed 3 September 2026)
  8. Open Pantry — Restaurant pricing and plans https://www.theopenpantry.com/restaurants/pricing (accessed 3 September 2026)

See it costed on your own invoices

Send us a month of your own supplier invoices and we will show you your dish costs and your price movements on your own numbers — not a demo menu.