Apicbase is a European enterprise platform for multi-site foodservice: recipe and menu engineering, procurement with three-way invoice matching, production planning for a central kitchen, and compliance labelling across eight formats. Its entry plan starts at five outlets, it publishes no price, and it states its supplier and POS integrations cover the UK, EU and US. Open Pantry is built for a single Australian venue upward: free ordering across the suppliers you already have, invoices photographed into live recipe costs, price-spike alerts, inventory, stocktakes, waste and prep lists — starting at $0 with the costing at $199 once.
Every Apicbase cell below is footnoted to a dated source at the foot of this page. Where a capability is not described on Apicbase’s own site we mark it partial and say so — that means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.
| Capability | Open Pantry | Apicbase |
|---|---|---|
| Ordering from your suppliers | YesOne cart across every supplier you already buy from, split into one order per supplier when you send it, with recurring orders and pantry lists. Free for the venue. | YesOutlets place orders with suppliers directly, with order-to-par, order lists, bill-of-materials ordering, forecast ordering, minimum order quantities and reorder alerts. Purchase orders are sent to vendors directly.[2] |
| Keeping your own supplier accounts and prices | YesYou keep your own supplier accounts and your own negotiated prices, and you can add a supplier yourself. Open Pantry is not a marketplace and sells you nothing. | PartialNo limit on the number of suppliers you can manage, but it states it is "integrated with leading suppliers in the UK, EU, and US" — and the automatic daily price updates depend on that integration. No Australian supplier coverage is claimed. Not stated publicly whether an Australian supplier can be connected.[2] |
| Supplier invoice capture and automatic price updates | YesPhotograph, upload or email invoices to your own address; suppliers, products and prices appear, and every price change flows into your recipe costs. Up to 250 invoices a month on Menu Profit Manager. | PartialThree-way matching of purchase order, goods receipt and invoice, and integrated supplier catalogues that update ingredient prices daily. No OCR or scanning of a paper or PDF invoice is described on any readable page — its dedicated invoice page served navigation only. Not stated publicly.[2] |
| Price-change alerts | YesPrice-spike alerts that name which dishes the rise hurts and what to charge instead, with every change shown old to new as a percentage. | PartialA price evolution report and an item price evolution dashboard are in every plan, but these are presented as reports rather than alerts. A push alert when a price spikes is not described publicly.[8] |
| Recipe and menu costing | YesRecipes costed from the prices you actually paid, sub-recipes rolling up, and dishes re-costing themselves when a supplier price moves. | YesFully costed and portioned recipes and sub-recipes, a live menu matrix with actual food costs, sales and margin contribution, and AI import of recipes from photos, PDFs and handwriting with unit normalisation.[4] |
| Live profit per dish | YesA cost percentage and trend on every dish, with margins ranked into top earners and the ones that need attention. | YesProfit margins per dish, category, menu and location, and gross profit margin as a published insight, with real-time ingredient prices and actual-versus-theoretical food costs on the group dashboards.[3] |
| Inventory and stocktakes | YesBalance, par level and trigger per product by storage area, guided stocktakes in the unit you buy with barcode or manual counting, and the count becomes live stock. Restaurant Pro Suite. | YesCounts on a phone or tablet with barcode scanning, voice input and guided count lists, every POS transaction depleting inventory automatically, theoretical versus actual comparison and unit conversion.[5] |
| Waste tracking | YesWrite-offs logged with a reason and a reporter, costed and split by reason, menu, item and employee, with stocktake variances in the same report. | YesWaste tracking in every plan, with food waste logs per site and the value of waste over a period.[5] |
| Preparation lists | YesPreparation lists that turn portions to make into the ingredients still to buy and put them in the cart, with projected cost and profit. | YesDrag-and-drop production plans with task assignment and batch quantities, and bill-of-materials ordering that turns a production plan into a purchase order — a deeper version of a preparation list, aimed at a central kitchen.[6] |
| Delivery check-off and credit claims | YesCheck the delivery off at the door and the invoice is matched line by line against what arrived; a shortfall becomes a credit request your supplier can see. | YesGoods receipt is the middle leg of the three-way match, with discrepancies flagged before payment and supplier-performance dashboards showing the total value of missed deliveries per supplier.[2] |
| POS sales integration | PartialOne till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — pulling the day’s takings through automatically, matched to your recipes and never written back. It is set up per venue rather than self-serve. Every other till uses a bulk sales-template import or manual entry, which lands in the same table. Waste is logged in Open Pantry rather than imported from the till. | YesAround 42 POS and EPOS systems out of the box, stated as "leading POS systems in the EU, UK and US". Its integrations directory is a client-side app that could not be read, so the named systems are unverified and no Australian POS is claimed.[2] |
| Accounting integration | YesReviewed invoices land in Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB as bills, so nothing is entered twice. | PartialIts Accounting page redirects to a platform page naming only "ERP systems", and no accounting product is named anywhere readable. Whether Xero, MYOB or QuickBooks are supported is not stated publicly.[9] |
| Multi-venue and group control | PartialEach venue keeps its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history, which is deliberate — two sites cannot share a wrong number. There is no group catalogue, no group price list and no group purchase approval; a group is handled as per-venue licences. | YesThe core of the product: unlimited locations on the Professional plan, group-wide rollout, role-based access control, multiple recipe libraries, per-outlet assignment, and a central production unit outlets order from the same way they order from any supplier.[1] |
| Nutrition and allergen labelling | NoAllergens and dietary tags are fields on the recipe card for your own kitchen. There is no nutrition panel and no compliance labelling. | YesThe clearest gap in our favour reversed. Allergens held at ingredient level, auto-generated allergen and nutrition labels, QR codes, official Nutri-Score generation and eight label types — including allergen declarations to the Australian and New Zealand FSANZ standard.[7] |
| Rostering, payroll and restaurant accounting | NoNo rostering, no payroll and no general ledger. Reviewed invoices are pushed into the accounting system you already run; the reporting stops at sales, cost of goods, waste and dish margin. | NoNo rostering, payroll or general ledger. Production planning includes task assignment within the kitchen, which is not staff scheduling.[6] |
| Published pricing | YesOrdering is free for the venue. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month. | NoNo figures and no currency anywhere on the site — every call to action is "Talk to our Team". Three plans are described by limits rather than price: Growth from five outlets, Professional with unlimited locations, Enterprise with a bulk discount. HACCP, internal ordering, production planning, traceability, API, menu planning and carbon footprint are separately priced add-ons. Billed annually by credit card, with 15% added for monthly billing.[1] |
| Free plan | YesOrdering package at $0 with unlimited orders and unlimited suppliers, opened by a supplier invitation. | NoNo free plan, no free trial and no self-signup anywhere on the site. Onboarding is a scoped project — do-it-yourself for a single outlet, one to three months up to 20 outlets, two to six months above that.[9] |
| Australian presence | YesAustralia and New Zealand, priced per country, with Australian support. | NoOffices are Antwerp and New York, the sales line is Belgian, support is 9am to 5pm CET, and the only switcher on the site is a language switcher — no region selector, no /au site and no currency selector. Suppliers, POS and labelling regions are all stated as UK, EU and US. Australia appears on exactly one page, for FSANZ allergen declarations, and that same page’s summary says the regions covered are EU, UK and US.[10] |
Open Pantry capabilities are from our own published plans and feature pages. Apicbase capabilities are from its own published pages, read on 3 September 2026.
Apicbase is built for a group with a central kitchen and a compliance obligation. Open Pantry is built for the venue. This is everything it does, with the page behind each line — the honest use of this list is to see quickly whether your problem is on it.
Neither product wins on every row, and a comparison that says otherwise is not worth reading.
Ordering is free for the venue — unlimited orders, unlimited suppliers, pantry lists and standing orders. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month and adds automated inventory and stocktake, automated ordering, POS integration and the sales, cost, waste, stocktake and variance reporting.
No price and no currency is published anywhere. Three plans are described by their limits: Growth "starting from 5 outlets" with up to 5,000 ingredients, 1,000 recipes, a maximum of 30 locations and no API; Professional with up to 10,000 ingredients, 2,000 recipes, unlimited locations, 10,000 API requests a month, SSO and two-factor; and Enterprise with a bulk discount. HACCP and tasks, internal ordering, production planning, traceability, API, menu planning and carbon footprint are all separately priced add-ons with no figures given. Subscriptions are billed annually by credit card and monthly billing adds 15%. The per-location fee falls as locations are added. There is no free trial and no self-signup; onboarding is scoped at do-it-yourself for one outlet, one to three months up to 20, and two to six months above.
Source: Apicbase — Pricing plans (tiers by limit, add-ons, annual billing) · verified 3 September 2026
What the move actually involves. We do not promise a timeline — it depends on the size of your catalogue and how quickly your customers move across.
It does not say. Its offices are Antwerp and New York, its sales line is Belgian, its support hours are 9am to 5pm CET, and the only switcher on its site is a language switcher — there is no region selector, no Australian site and no currency selector. It states its supplier and POS integrations cover the UK, EU and US. Australia appears on exactly one page, where it prints allergen declarations to the FSANZ standard, and even that page’s own summary says the regions covered are EU, UK and US. Ask them directly. Verified 3 September 2026.
No figure and no currency is published anywhere on its site — every call to action is "Talk to our Team". Its three plans are described by limits rather than price, and HACCP, internal ordering, production planning, traceability, API, menu planning and carbon footprint are separately priced add-ons. Billing is annual by credit card and monthly billing adds 15%. For comparison, Open Pantry publishes free ordering, Menu Profit Manager at $199 AUD once with a refund guarantee, and Restaurant Pro Suite at $250 a month.
Its entry plan is stated as "starting from 5 outlets", its home page addresses "Large and Enterprise Food Businesses", and its inventory page is headed for large and enterprise foodservice groups. A single independent venue is not the buyer it addresses. Open Pantry starts at one venue and at $0.
Apicbase, clearly, and Open Pantry does not do it at all. Apicbase holds allergens at ingredient level and generates allergen and nutrition labels across eight formats including official Nutri-Score and FSANZ allergen declarations. In Open Pantry, allergens and dietary tags are fields on the recipe card for your own kitchen — there is no nutrition panel and no compliance labelling. If labelling is a legal obligation for you, that is decisive.
Into Open Pantry, yes — photograph, upload or email invoices to your own address and the suppliers, products and prices appear, with every price change flowing into your recipe costs. Apicbase’s published mechanism is different: integrated supplier catalogues that update ingredient prices daily, plus three-way matching of purchase order, goods receipt and invoice. No OCR of a paper or PDF invoice is described on any of its readable pages, and its dedicated invoice page would not load, so treat it as not stated publicly and ask.
Apicbase. Its production planning, internal ordering and transfers that sync stock and cost between a central production unit and the outlets are deeper than anything Open Pantry offers, and it is built for unlimited locations with group-wide rollout and role-based access. Open Pantry deliberately keeps each venue separate and has no group catalogue, group price list or group approvals.
Every Apicbase claim here comes from Apicbase’s own published pages on the verification date at the top, and the page is re-checked quarterly. Two of its pages could not be read with the tools we use — its integrations directory and its invoice-matching page — so several rows are marked "not stated publicly" where the answer may well exist behind them. Treat those as questions for the vendor, not verdicts, and tell us if something here is wrong.
Every Apicbase claim on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their prices; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.
Send us a month of your own supplier invoices and we will show you your dish costs and your price movements on your own numbers — not a demo menu.