This is the closest comparison on the restaurant side, and both are Australian. Restoke is a kitchen-operations platform: costing and invoices on the entry plan, then inventory, ordering, procedures, training and compliance on Pro, at $111 to $219 a month per site, with more than thirty named POS integrations including the Australian ones. Open Pantry comes at it from the order — free ordering across the suppliers you already have, and costing bought once for $199 rather than rented. Restoke is stronger on staff operations and named POS integrations; Open Pantry is stronger on ordering, delivery check-off and credit claims, and on what it costs to find out.
Every Restoke cell below is footnoted to a dated source at the foot of this page. Where a capability is not described on Restoke’s own site we mark it partial and say so — that means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.
| Capability | Open Pantry | Restoke |
|---|---|---|
| Ordering from your suppliers | YesOne cart across every supplier you already buy from, split into one order per supplier when you send it, with recurring orders and pantry lists. Free for the venue. | YesEmail purchase orders and SMS orders to suppliers, with scheduled, immediate, standing and "smart" orders, order-from-stocktake and order receiving. Ordering is a Pro-plan feature, not on Essentials.[3] |
| Keeping your own supplier accounts and prices | YesYou keep your own supplier accounts and your own negotiated prices, and you can add a supplier yourself. Open Pantry is not a marketplace and sells you nothing. | YesYour own suppliers, managed in the platform with bulk supplier import and Gmail supplier imports. Orders go out as emails or SMS to the supplier rather than through a marketplace.[3] |
| Supplier invoice capture and automatic price updates | YesPhotograph, upload or email invoices to your own address; suppliers, products and prices appear, and every price change flows into your recipe costs. Up to 250 invoices a month on Menu Profit Manager. | YesAI invoice analysis accepting images, PDF, CSV and XLSX plus credit notes and statements, and an invoices-by-email address. Unlimited invoice processing is on the entry plan, and live supplier pricing updates every affected ingredient, recipe and menu item.[5] |
| Price-change alerts | YesPrice-spike alerts that name which dishes the rise hurts and what to charge instead, with every change shown old to new as a percentage. | YesPrice update notifications, order alerts and SMS alerts, plus notification when a recipe drifts outside the margin target you set.[1] |
| Recipe and menu costing | YesRecipes costed from the prices you actually paid, sub-recipes rolling up, and dishes re-costing themselves when a supplier price moves. | YesAI-powered live food costing with a recipe cost calculator and dashboard, dish and prep recipes, menus and an AI recipe builder. Dynamic recipe costing is a Pro feature.[2] |
| Live profit per dish | YesA cost percentage and trend on every dish, with margins ranked into top earners and the ones that need attention. | YesMenu engineering and recipe cost ranges, with margins shown and a notification when a recipe moves outside target. The phrase "live gross profit per dish" is not used on its pages.[2] |
| Inventory and stocktakes | YesBalance, par level and trigger per product by storage area, guided stocktakes in the unit you buy with barcode or manual counting, and the count becomes live stock. Restaurant Pro Suite. | YesLive inventory tracking, stocktakes, storage areas, stock movement and substitution groups, with the count list built for you. Pro plan.[4] |
| Waste tracking | YesWrite-offs logged with a reason and a reporter, costed and split by reason, menu, item and employee, with stocktake variances in the same report. | PartialWaste management and a wastage report are listed in the plan table, but no feature page describes how waste is captured or costed. Not stated publicly — confirm with vendor.[1] |
| Preparation lists | YesPreparation lists that turn portions to make into the ingredients still to buy and put them in the cart, with projected cost and profit. | YesPreparation runs and kitchen prep automation, with prep recipes distinct from dish recipes, on the Pro plan.[6] |
| Delivery check-off and credit claims | YesCheck the delivery off at the door and the invoice is matched line by line against what arrived; a shortfall becomes a credit request your supplier can see. | PartialOrder receiving is a listed feature and credit notes are processed from supplier documents. A delivery check-off done at the door, and a credit claim raised back to the supplier from it, are not described publicly.[1] |
| POS sales integration | PartialOne till connects directly — Triniteq PowerEPOS — pulling the day’s takings through automatically, matched to your recipes and never written back. It is set up per venue rather than self-serve. Every other till uses a bulk sales-template import or manual entry, which lands in the same table. Waste is logged in Open Pantry rather than imported from the till. | YesMore than thirty named POS integrations, on every plan, including the Australian bench — H&L, OrderMate, Impos, Idealpos, SwiftPOS, Redcat, Oolio and Tyro — alongside Lightspeed, Square, Clover, Toast, Epos Now, ROLLER and Otter.[7] |
| Accounting integration | YesReviewed invoices land in Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB as bills, so nothing is entered twice. | YesXero, QuickBooks, MYOB, MYOB Acumatica and Microsoft Business Central, on every plan.[7] |
| Multi-venue and group control | PartialEach venue keeps its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history, which is deliberate — two sites cannot share a wrong number. There is no group catalogue, no group price list and no group purchase approval; a group is handled as per-venue licences. | YesMulti-venue management on the Pro plan, and a Headquarters command centre for recipes, users, reporting, outlet permissions and location switching. Headquarters is described in one place as an Enterprise feature and in another as an add-on, and Enterprise pricing is not published.[8] |
| Nutrition and allergen labelling | NoAllergens and dietary tags are fields on the recipe card for your own kitchen. There is no nutrition panel and no compliance labelling. | PartialAutomatic allergen tracking is listed in the plan table. Nutrition panels and printed compliance labels are not described publicly — confirm with vendor.[1] |
| Rostering, payroll and restaurant accounting | NoNo rostering, no payroll and no general ledger. Reviewed invoices are pushed into the accounting system you already run; the reporting stops at sales, cost of goods, waste and dish margin. | NoNo rostering, payroll or general ledger of its own. Scheduling is integration-only — Deputy, Employment Hero, 7 Shifts, Tanda, Connecteam and others — and accounting is a sync to Xero, QuickBooks or MYOB.[7] |
| Published pricing | YesOrdering is free for the venue. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month. | YesPublished per site in Australian dollars ex GST: Essentials $111 a month billed annually or $139 monthly; Pro $175 annually or $219 monthly; Enterprise custom. No set-up fees, no lock-in contracts. Ordering, inventory, recipes and the team features all start at Pro.[1] |
| Free plan | YesOrdering package at $0 with unlimited orders and unlimited suppliers, opened by a supplier invitation. | PartialIts calls to action say "Get started free", but no free tier appears in the plan table and no trial length or card requirement is published anywhere on the site. Not stated publicly — ask before assuming.[1] |
| Australian presence | YesAustralia and New Zealand, priced per country, with Australian support. | YesPrices in Australian dollars ex GST, a deep bench of Australian POS integrations, MYOB and MYOB Acumatica, and customer locations tagged in Melbourne, Sydney and New South Wales. No office address or countries-served statement is published; the about page says "From Sydney to Austin" and notes funding raised to expand into the US.[1] |
Open Pantry capabilities are from our own published plans and feature pages. Restoke capabilities are from its own published pages, read on 3 September 2026.
Restoke and Open Pantry overlap more than anything else on this list, so the useful thing is to be specific rather than superlative. This is exactly what Open Pantry does for a venue, with the page behind each line, so you can hold it against Restoke’s own feature pages row by row.
Neither product wins on every row, and a comparison that says otherwise is not worth reading.
Ordering is free for the venue — unlimited orders, unlimited suppliers, pantry lists and standing orders. Menu Profit Manager is $199 AUD once, for life, with a 30-day money-back guarantee: invoice scanning up to 250 invoices a month, recipe import, live costing, margins and price-spike alerts. Restaurant Pro Suite is $250 a month and adds automated inventory and stocktake, automated ordering, POS integration and the sales, cost, waste, stocktake and variance reporting.
Published per site in Australian dollars ex GST, with a 20% discount for annual billing: Essentials $111 a month billed annually or $139 billed monthly; Pro $175 annually or $219 monthly; Enterprise custom pricing on application. No set-up fees, no lock-in, unlimited team members and both web and mobile app on every tier. Essentials carries unlimited AI invoice processing, live food costing and the integrations; live inventory, dynamic recipe costing, vendor ordering, prep and dish recipes, procedures and training all start at Pro. Its calls to action say "free" but no free tier appears in the plan table and no trial length is published.
Source: Restoke — Pricing (plans, AUD ex GST, per-site rates, tier contents) · verified 3 September 2026
What the move actually involves. We do not promise a timeline — it depends on the size of your catalogue and how quickly your customers move across.
Both are Australian and both turn supplier invoices into live recipe costs. Restoke is a kitchen-operations platform — costing and invoices on Essentials, then inventory, ordering, staff procedures, training and compliance on Pro — priced per site at $111 to $219 a month. Open Pantry comes at it from the order: ordering across the suppliers you already have is free, and the costing is $199 once for life rather than a monthly subscription. Restoke is stronger on named POS integrations and staff operations; Open Pantry is stronger on ordering, delivery check-off and credit claims.
Restoke publishes per-site pricing in Australian dollars excluding GST: Essentials at $111 a month billed annually or $139 billed monthly, Pro at $175 annually or $219 monthly, and Enterprise on application. It states no set-up fees and no lock-in contracts. Note that ordering, live inventory, recipes and all the team and training features are Pro-plan features, so a venue that wants ordering is on the $175 to $219 tier. Verified 3 September 2026.
Its buttons say "Get started free" and "Try for free", but no free tier appears in its published plan table and no trial length or card requirement is stated anywhere on its site. That is worth clarifying with them directly. Open Pantry’s ordering package is genuinely $0 with unlimited orders and unlimited suppliers, opened by a supplier invitation, and Menu Profit Manager carries a 30-day money-back guarantee instead of a trial.
On published evidence, Restoke. It names more than thirty POS systems on every plan, including the Australian ones — H&L, OrderMate, Impos, Idealpos, SwiftPOS, Redcat, Oolio and Tyro — alongside Lightspeed, Square, Clover and Toast. Open Pantry connects directly to one, Triniteq PowerEPOS, which syncs the day’s sales against your recipes; any other till uses a bulk sales-template import or manual entry. On breadth of named tills this is a genuine point in Restoke’s favour, and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise.
On published prices, Open Pantry, by a wide margin, provided the free ordering package and Menu Profit Manager cover what you need. Ordering is $0 and Menu Profit Manager is $199 once. Restoke Essentials at its cheapest annual rate is $111 a month ex GST, which is about $3,996 over three years, and Pro — the tier that includes ordering and inventory — is about $6,300. If you need the automated inventory, stocktake and POS integration, compare Restaurant Pro Suite at $250 a month instead, which changes the answer.
Neither. Restoke has no rostering of its own and integrates with Deputy, Employment Hero, 7 Shifts, Tanda and others; Open Pantry does not touch labour at all. Both push invoices into an accounting system you already run rather than replacing it — Restoke adds MYOB Acumatica and Microsoft Business Central to the usual Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB.
Restoke, on what each publishes. Its multi-venue management is a Pro feature and its Headquarters command centre handles recipes, users, reporting and outlet permissions across sites — though Headquarters is described in one place as Enterprise and in another as an add-on, and Enterprise pricing is not published. Open Pantry deliberately keeps each venue separate, with its own suppliers, products, recipes and price history, and has no group catalogue, group price list or group approvals. Groups are handled as per-venue licences.
Every Restoke claim here comes from Restoke’s own published pages on the verification date at the top, and the page is re-checked quarterly. Anything marked "not stated publicly" means we could not confirm it from their site — treat it as a question for them, not a verdict. If you think something here is wrong, tell us and we will correct it.
Every Restoke claim on this page comes from one of these pages, read on 3 September 2026. Vendors change their products and their prices; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.
Send us a month of your own supplier invoices and we will show you your dish costs and your price movements on your own numbers — not a demo menu.