Back

Ordermentum vs Fresho vs Upstock vs Open Pantry: the 2026 comparison for food wholesalers

Four platforms, four different bets

If you sell food to restaurants, cafés and venues and have decided that phone calls, texts and a spreadsheet are no longer a system, you will end up looking at four names: Ordermentum, Fresho, Upstock and Open Pantry.

They are not four versions of the same product. Each made a different bet about what a wholesaler’s real problem is, and those bets show up in what each is excellent at — and what each quietly leaves to someone else.

This comparison of wholesale ordering software in Australia is written for the supplier side and is current as of September 2026. Every figure about the other three comes from their own published pricing and feature pages, linked at the end. We build one of these four, so read accordingly — but we have been specific about where the others beat us, because a comparison that pretends the competition is bad is a comparison nobody should trust.

The short version

Ordermentum bet on demand. Fifty thousand Australian venues are already on their platform, and if your problem is I need more customers, their Growth Engine team will go and sell on your behalf. They offer bank direct debit alongside cards. The cost is structure: $200/month for 15–150 customers plus a $399 setup fee, $1,050/month for 151–700 plus $2,000 setup, and analytics, AI order capture and acquisition all billed on top. No native inventory, no supplier mobile app, no driver app. Australia only.

Fresho bet on fresh-produce operations. Unlimited unit conversions, catch weight for every customer, margin control that moves sell prices when cost prices move, custom report tags, and the deepest fresh-food ERP list of the four. Six countries. It is obvious their product was designed by people who have done the job. Pricing starts at $499/month plus a setup fee of at least $2,000 that they do not publish, with no free trial, separately priced support tiers, and pick-by-product, picker allocation and photo capture behind a paid Premium add-on.

Upstock bet on getting small suppliers off paper. A free tier that stays free, $99/month to start, no setup fee, no contract, published card processing rates, hand-off to four named couriers, and supermarket EDI at $40/month against roughly $10,000 to build one yourself. For a supplier taking their first step off pen and paper, or chasing a Woolworths or Foodstuffs listing, it is the easiest yes in the market. It is also the thinnest: no supplier-side inventory, no route optimisation, no driver app, no API.

Open Pantry bet that the job is one job. Buying, stock, catalogue, pricing, AI order capture, picking, delivery — your own trucks and drivers, or a courier booked through Starshipit — invoicing, collection by card or bank direct debit, messaging your customers, and the reconciliation at both ends. Plans start at $0, paid plans from $149/month, and analytics and full picking are in the price. Billed in local currency across 46 countries.

Where the ground is contested: margin control, catch weight, credit control

Three capabilities get claimed loosely across this category, so it is worth being exact.

A wholesale supplier's operations manager comparing four options on a laptop at a warehouse desk beside crates of fresh produce.

Margin control. Fresho built it and markets it well. Open Pantry has it too, and it works differently: a margin-based price is never stored at all. The rule is stored, and the sell price is worked out from today’s cost every time anyone looks — so a cost change moves every linked price the instant it is saved, with no batch to run and no queue to approve. It can be set on a whole price list, on one product on that list, or for one customer, and a quote can carry a padlock meaning "I sold this customer a margin, not a price". Call this parity. Ordermentum and Upstock have neither.

Catch weight. Ordering by the unit, invoicing by the kilo. Fresho supports it and adjusts weights at invoicing. Open Pantry supports it on every plan — and on the Enterprise plan a bench scale plugs into the picking screen, with drivers for Adam Equipment and generic RS-232 indicators, so the picker weighs the carton and the invoice takes that number. The difference is whether a human retypes it. Ordermentum and Upstock do not support catch weight.

Credit control. Ordermentum’s home ground, and they are strong on it. But the gap is narrower than their marketing suggests. Open Pantry has credit limits per customer, an automatic stop at the limit, a manual stop-credit switch that emails the customer, and card auto-charge on invoice terms — N days, end of week, or end of month. Failed payments run a retry ladder at one, three, seven and fourteen days that reads the decline reason first: an insufficient-funds decline emails the customer rather than re-charging, and a stolen card is never retried. There is also an option Ordermentum doesn’t have: instead of blocking a customer at their limit, require them to pay by card. They keep trading; you stop carrying them. A second rule works on age rather than amount — an invoice more than a set number of days overdue can stop new orders or force card payment on its own. Overdue invoice-terms customers are chased automatically on the schedule you set, and every change to a customer’s credit terms is logged with who made it and when.

The rail is no longer a difference. Ordermentum offers bank direct debit, and so does Open Pantry: BECS in Australia, Bacs in the UK and SEPA in Europe. The customer sets up the mandate once on a Stripe-hosted page — from their own Payment Methods screen or from a link the supplier sends — and each invoice is debited on its due date. Fresho and Upstock collect by card. On a $4,000 weekly produce order the rail is real money, and you can have it on either platform.

The thing nobody else does: ordered vs received vs invoiced

Every platform here turns an order into an invoice. Fresho does it well, generating the invoice from what was picked rather than what was ordered. But in all three rivals the invoice is the end of the story — there is nowhere to record what actually came off the truck.

In practice three different numbers exist for every delivery:

  • Ordered — what the venue asked for.
  • Received — what the chef actually counted off the back of the truck.
  • Invoiced — what the supplier’s bill claims was sent.

They routinely disagree. A crate goes short. A line gets misread. A decimal moves. The gap between them is money — recoverable money, sitting in short deliveries and mis-keyed lines nobody reconciled because no system held all three numbers side by side.

Open Pantry treats them as three separate facts and never merges them. The venue checks the delivery off, that count becomes the received quantity, and the supplier’s invoice is compared against it, producing an explicit verdict: short, over, or wrong unit. The invoice total is never quietly rewritten from a reading of the lines — if the lines and the total disagree, that disagreement is itself the signal something was missed, and the reconciliation will not complete until a person resolves it.

The same discipline runs on the buying side. Raise a purchase order to a grower, receive against it, let the AI read the grower’s invoice PDF, and see per line where the PO price, the quantity received and the amount invoiced disagree — with a 2% price tolerance and quantity mismatches outranking price flags — then push the corrected cost onto that vendor’s record in one click. Ordermentum has no inventory. Upstock has no supplier-side inventory. Fresho has stock visibility and a purchasing suggestion, but no purchase orders, no vendor bills and no match.

And if a delivery is short, the driver can raise the credit note at the door — properly numbered, capped at the ordered quantity, landing in the supplier’s credits screen. Ordermentum auto-applies credit notes to the next order, which is good; someone in an office still has to raise them.

Batches, expiry and the gap in the category

The finding that surprised us most while researching this piece: none of Ordermentum, Fresho or Upstock tracks batches or expiry dates. Not as a premium tier, not as an add-on — at all. Fresho is the striking one, because it markets to seafood, meat and produce wholesalers, and its own comparison page concedes waste tracking to an ERP business it acquired rather than claiming it natively.

Open Pantry forecasts demand from sales velocity and suggests reorders, and holds stock in dated lots and steers the picker to the soonest-expiring batch, lets them override to the batch actually taken, and lets them flag an expired one for write-off. Lot-level cost flows into COGS. If you sell dairy, smallgoods, seafood or bakery, that is the difference between rotating stock and discovering it. It sits on the Enterprise plan.

Feature grid: all four platforms side by side

Every rival cell below was read off that vendor’s own published pages in September 2026; every Open Pantry cell was checked against the running product on 9 September 2026.

Legend: ✅ included · 🔵 Enterprise plan · 🟡 partial / add-on / via partner · ❌ not available · — not documented publicly.

Commercial model, price and reach
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Not a marketplace — your customers never see a competitor✅ (closed network)❌ (open marketplace, 50k venues browse across suppliers)✅ (closed network)❌ (marketplace directory, 40+ categories)
Free plan for suppliers✅ ($0, no limit)❌ (venue side only)❌✅ ($0 forever)
Entry paid price✅ ($149/mo)🟡 ($200/mo)🟡 ($499/mo)✅ ($99/mo)
One-off setup fee✅❌ ($399–$2,000)❌ ($2,000+, not published)✅
Free trial✅ (14 days, no card)❌❌🟡 (free tier instead)
Analytics included, not an add-on✅❌ (paid Insights)✅🟡 (light)
Full picking included, not an add-on✅❌ (no pick & pack module)❌ (Premium add-on)✅
No contract lock-in✅✅✅✅
Countries served✅ (46, local currency)🟡 (Australia)✅ (AU NZ UK IE US SG)🟡 (NZ, AU)
Ordering
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Customer web ordering✅✅✅✅
Customer mobile app✅ (App Store + Google Play)✅❌ (responsive web)✅
Standing / recurring orders✅ (7/14/28 day)✅✅✅ (+24h reminder)
Order cut-off times✅✅ (per customer)✅✅ (per group)
Minimum order values✅✅✅✅
Order templates / favourites✅✅✅✅ (+staff lock)
QR no-login ordering codes for floor staff✅❌❌❌
Block ordering when out of stock✅ (enforced server-side)—✅ (live availability)✅ (live stock)
Quotes with margin bands, PDF, email✅❌🟡 (rep quoting)❌
Convert a quote to a standing price✅ (margin or fixed)❌❌❌
Abandoned-cart and reorder-due reminders✅✅❌✅
Order on a customer's behalf✅✅✅✅ (rep app)
Order status ladder with selective notifications✅——✅
In-app messaging with customers✅ (threaded per order, both sides)✅ (live chat)✅✅ (threaded per order)
Product catalogue and visibility
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Multi-SKU catalogue with images✅✅✅✅
Multiple units of measure per product✅ (one stock pool)❌✅ (unlimited mappings)✅
Catch weight / variable weight✅ (all plans)❌✅❌
Weighing scale plugged into picking🔵 Enterprise (Adam + RS-232 drivers)❌❌❌
Product visibility access matrix✅ (3 access levels)✅ (group to individual)✅🟡 (via price lists)
Hidden-by-default catalogue mode✅✅✅❌
Storage areas / bin locations✅❌✅❌
Bulk catalogue import with preview✅ (XLSX, diff before write)✅✅ (CSV)✅
Shopify orders as a channel✅❌—❌
Pricing and margin
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Multiple price lists✅ (10 free, then uncapped)✅✅ (unlimited)✅ (unlimited)
Customer-specific price exceptions✅ (100 free, then uncapped)✅✅✅
Margin locking — price follows cost✅ (all plans)❌✅❌
Margin lock at multiple levels✅ (list, product, customer)❌🟡 (list level)❌
Margin lock carried through a quote✅ (padlock per line)❌❌❌
Live margin readout while pricing✅ (colour-coded)❌✅❌
Bulk / percentage price updates✅✅✅ (CSV)✅
Per-customer purchase quantity caps✅——❌
Price-change history🟡 (one step back)🟡 (venue tier only)❌❌
Vendor cost history time series✅ (unbounded)❌❌❌
Promotions
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Promotions and specials✅ (4 mechanics)✅✅✅ (featured products)
Audience targeting incl. at-risk customers✅ (6 audience types)🟡 (add-on insights)❌❌
Overlap conflict detection✅ (best-offer-wins)——❌
Margin floor guardrails on promotions🟡 (warns, no longer blocks)❌❌❌
AI-generated promotion suggestions✅ (cross-sell + win-back)❌❌❌
Promotion revenue and trial reporting✅——❌
Warehouse — picking and packing
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Digital pick lists✅❌ (no pick & pack module)✅✅ (+ production report)
Pick waves by storage zone✅❌🟡 (pick-by-product is Premium)❌
Pick by order and pick by product✅ (both, included)❌🟡 (pick-by-product is Premium)❌
Picker assignment and reassignment✅ (included)❌🟡 (Premium add-on)❌
Barcode scan-to-pick🔵 Enterprise❌❌❌
Pickers teach the system new barcodes🔵 Enterprise (+ supervisor review queue)❌❌❌
Mid-pick substitution✅❌—❌
Shorts flow straight to the invoice✅ (+ auto email)❌🟡 (Premium)—
Packing, boxes and box items✅❌✅✅ (QR packing slips)
Box / pallet labels✅❌✅✅
GS1 SSCC-18 pallet labels🔵 Enterprise (mod-10 check digits)❌❌❌
Photo capture on pick issues✅❌🟡 (Premium)—
Picker productivity reporting✅ (lines per hour by picker, 7/14/30 days)❌✅❌
Delivery, routing and drivers
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Delivery runs built from orders✅❌✅ (+ drag-drop resequencing)✅ (fulfilment groups)
Route optimisation built in🔵 Enterprise (native 2-opt + Google times)🟡 (partner only)❌❌
Live driver ETAs to the venue✅ (+ stops away)❌❌❌
Web push to the venue on the day✅ (4 triggers)❌❌❌
Dedicated driver app with own login✅ (+ SSO bridge)❌🟡 (inside main app)🟡 (inside main app)
Proof of delivery — photo, signature, GPS✅ (+ failure reason)✅✅ (QR logs time + GPS)✅
Delivery photos auto-purge on a set window✅ (1–365 days)———
Cold-chain temperature check at handover🔵 Enterprise (server-side verdict)❌❌❌
Driver raises the credit note at the door✅❌❌❌
Freight rules, thresholds, delivery windows✅✅ (dedicated module)✅✅
Courier hand-off integrations✅ (Starshipit: Australia Post, StarTrack, CouriersPlease, NZ Post, DHL + 40 more; label + tracking on the order)❌🟡 (unnamed partners)✅ (AU/NZ Post, DHL, Starshipit)
Invoicing, credits and reconciliation
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Automatic invoice at dispatch✅✅✅ (one-click / batch)✅
Invoice from picked or weighed quantity✅❌✅❌
ORDERED vs RECEIVED vs INVOICED on deliveries✅❌❌❌
Customer delivery check-off✅❌❌❌
Billing-discrepancy verdicts✅ (short / over / unit mismatch)❌❌❌
Supplier statement reconciliation✅ (finds missing documents)❌❌❌
Three-way match on bills you receive✅ (invoice vs PO vs received)❌❌❌
Credit notes with GST inherited per line✅ (gapless numbering)✅ (auto-applied next order)✅🟡 (card refunds)
Customer can request a credit themselves✅❌❌❌
Consolidated invoices across orders❌❌✅✅
Supplier bills arriving by email✅ (own inbound address)❌❌❌
Batch invoice email and PDF✅✅✅✅
Invoice email tracked to delivered and opened✅———
Payments and credit control
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Card payments✅ (Stripe Connect, PCI L1)✅ (Visa/MC/Amex)✅ (card on file)✅ (Stripe)
Card auto-charged on invoice terms✅ (recommended default)✅✅❌
Terms: N days, end of week, end of month✅✅✅—
Bank-rail direct debit (BECS/Bacs/SEPA)✅ (BECS AU, Bacs UK, SEPA EU)✅❌❌
Automatic retry on failed payment✅ (1/3/7/14 days)✅✅—
Retries classified by decline reason✅ (never retries a stolen card)——❌
Credit limits per customer✅✅❌❌
Automatic stop at the credit limit✅✅❌❌
Force card payment instead of blocking✅❌❌❌
Manual stop credit with customer email✅✅❌❌
Stop orders or require card when an invoice is N days overdue✅———
Credit-terms audit trail (who changed what, when)✅———
Payment links for off-platform customers✅——✅
Card surcharge configurable✅✅✅ (pass on or absorb)✅
Card processing fee published❌❌❌✅ (1.9% AU / 2.75% NZ)
Automatic chasing of overdue invoice-terms customers✅ (scheduled reminders at the steps you choose)✅🟡 (dunning)❌
AI credit scoring❌✅ (headline claim)❌❌
Lending or trade finance❌❌❌❌
Inventory and purchasing
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Native stock on hand✅❌ (integration only)✅❌ (integration only)
Stock takes with dollar-value variance✅ (incl. blind count)❌—❌
Stock movement history✅❌—❌
Batch / lot tracking with expiry🔵 Enterprise❌❌❌
FEFO — first-expired-first-out picking🔵 Enterprise (picker can override)❌❌❌
Weighted-average cost✅❌—❌
Inventory valuation and lot-accurate COGS✅❌—❌
ABC classification and cycle-count plan✅❌❌❌
Shrinkage and cost-drift alerts✅ (8% / 5% thresholds)❌🟡 (stock variance)❌
Purchase orders to your own vendors✅ (auto-draft at reorder point)❌❌❌
Goods receipt against a PO✅❌❌❌
AI reads your inbound supplier bills✅❌❌❌
Push corrected cost back to the vendor record✅ (one click)❌🟡 (Buy Report)❌
Demand forecasting and reorder suggestions✅🟡 (Insights add-on)🟡 (Buy Report)❌
AI and automation
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
AI order capture — email✅ (own inbound address)🟡 (add-on)✅✅
AI order capture — PDF and photo✅🟡 (add-on)✅✅
AI order capture — SMS✅ (provisioned number)🟡 (add-on)✅❌
AI order capture — WhatsApp✅❌✅❌
AI order capture — voicemail✅ (transcribed)🟡 (coming soon)✅❌
AI order capture — CSV✅🟡 (add-on)—✅
Capture learns customer and product aliases✅ (reused at full trust)❌❌❌
Places the order with no human step✅ (above a confidence threshold)❌❌❌
AI capture on any paid plan✅ (metered credits)🟡 (add-on)🟡✅
Supplier-facing AI analyst over live data✅ (17 data tools)❌❌❌
Churn prediction✅ (BG/NBD model)🟡 (Insights add-on)✅ (churn flag)❌
Lapsed product-level purchase detection✅ (Croston model)🟡 (add-on)✅ (sales variance)❌
Anomaly detection on orders✅❌❌❌
AI fraud detection on card payments✅ (via Stripe Radar)✅ (headline claim)🟡 (Stripe, not stated)🟡 (Stripe, not stated)
Integrations
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Xero✅ (+ reconnect flow)✅✅✅
MYOB✅ (AccountRight + Advanced)✅ (Business + Acumatica)✅✅
QuickBooks Online✅✅✅ (July 2026)✅
Sage / Reckon / Wave / Zoho / KashFlow✅ (confirm live)❌🟡 (Sage only)🟡 (Sage only)
NetSuite / Dynamics 365 BC✅ (confirm live)✅✅✅
Unleashed / Cin7✅✅✅✅
Two-way price sync with accounting✅ (pull and push)——❌
GL chart and tax-rate import with auto-mapping✅——❌
Food-specific ERPs❌❌✅ (ProducePro, FreshByte, NetYield)🟡 (Infusion, Accredo, GlobalBake)
Supermarket EDI🔵 Enterprise (Woolworths, Coles, Metcash, Aldi, PFD)✅ (Coles, Woolworths, Ampol)✅ (Birchstreet, Coupa +)✅ ($40/mo each)
ASN despatch advice on EDI🔵 Enterprise———
Outbound order webhooks✅ (HMAC-signed, SSRF-guarded)——❌
Public API with scoped keys✅ (self-serve keys, rotate and revoke)✅ (API, file, SQL Server)🟡 (bespoke)❌
POS till integration🟡 (one till, venue-side)❌❌🟡 (posBoss, buyer side)
Zapier❌❌❌❌
Reporting and analytics
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Included in the base price✅❌ (paid add-on)✅🟡 (light)
Sales by customer / product / period✅✅✅🟡 (order exports)
Sales by delivery run✅❌✅❌
Sales by rep and rep scorecards🔵 Enterprise🟡 (add-on)✅❌
At-risk and declining customer tabs✅ (live risk sensitivity)🟡 (add-on)✅❌
Opportunities valued in dollars✅ (win back — was $X/mo)🟡 (add-on)❌❌
Gross margin by product and customer, realised cost✅❌✅❌
Product profitability✅🟡 (add-on)✅❌
Accounts receivable ageing✅✅✅❌
Custom tags for slicing reports✅ (customer and product tags on every report)❌✅❌
Custom date ranges✅❌ (users ask for this)✅—
Role-based report access✅ (enforced server-side)✅✅—
Export on every report tab✅✅✅✅
Customers, growth and platform
CapabilityOpen PantryOrdermentumFreshoUpstock
Customer 360 with financial summary✅ (credit, days to pay, churn)✅✅🟡 (order history)
Customer groups — rule once, apply to many✅✅✅🟡
Head-office login across sites✅ (switch site)—🟡 (venue side)🟡 (buyer side)
Teammates with named roles and per-person permissions✅ (5 below Enterprise)✅✅✅
Bulk messaging to your customers (push / SMS / email)✅ (push to all, a segment, a tag or lapsed customers)🟡 (fixed reminders only)✅ (metered SMS included)✅ (newsfeeds)
Customer sign-up links / QR codes✅✅✅✅
Marketplace listing for discovery❌ (by design)✅ (1-in-2 AU venues claim)❌ (by design)✅ (40+ categories)
New-customer acquisition service❌🟡 (extra fee)❌❌
White-label branded ordering app✅ (self-serve logo, colours, from-address, app links)❌✅ (self-serve)❌
Recipe and menu costing for your customers✅❌❌❌
Sample data seeded on day one✅ (one-click wipe)———
Document retention windows✅ (30–365 days, data kept)———
Supplier mobile app✅❌ (web only, per their FAQ)❌ (web only)❌ (web only)

What we would tell you to buy instead

Buy Ordermentum if you need customers. Fifty thousand venues already logged in is a distribution advantage no feature list beats, and Growth Engine is a real sales team. We cannot match either.

A chef counting cartons off the tailgate of a refrigerated delivery truck at a restaurant's rear door.

Buy Fresho if you want the most polished fresh-produce operation. Unlimited unit-of-measure mappings, metered SMS to your customers included in the plan, and six countries of operating history. With a mature product, they are a serious answer for a produce or seafood wholesaler.

Buy Upstock if you are small and just want to start. Free forever at the bottom, $99 to move up, no setup fee, no contract, supermarket EDI at $40 a month, and courier hand-off to Australia Post, NZ Post, DHL and Starshipit. If you are one person with a van and a good product, that is a sensible first system, and paying $499 a month for capability you will not use for two years is not.

Where we would tell you to buy Open Pantry

When the job is the whole job. The pattern we see repeatedly: a supplier bought an ordering platform, then bought an inventory system because the ordering platform did not do stock, then kept a spreadsheet for delivery runs, then still argued with customers about what arrived. Three of the four here push inventory out to Cin7 or Unleashed — a second subscription, a second login and a sync to maintain.

When you deliver it yourself. Route optimisation built in rather than routed to a partner, live ETAs pushed to the venue on the day, a driver app with its own login and stop-by-stop navigation, photo proof, and a cold-chain temperature check at the door whose pass-or-fail verdict is decided by the server, not the phone. Ordermentum has no driver app. Fresho and Upstock make deliveries a mode of their main app.

And when you post it rather than drive it. Book the courier from the order through Starshipit — Australia Post, StarTrack, CouriersPlease, NZ Post, DHL and forty-odd other carriers — print the label, and the carrier, tracking number and each scan land on the order and on the venue’s order page where a driver’s ETA would otherwise sit.

When you want your customers told, not phoned. A push message to every customer, a segment, a tag, or the ones who have gone quiet — a new line, a substitution, a cut-off change, a promotion — from one screen with a live count of who will get it. A message thread on every order that both sides can see. Invoice emails tracked through sent, delivered and opened, so "I never got it" is a fact you can check.

When you want the analytics you are already paying for. Product profitability, gross margin by product and by customer from realised cost, lapsed customers, at-risk accounts. Ordermentum’s Insights — penetration mapping, pricing analysis, the same lapsed and at-risk views — is a paid add-on on top of a $200–$1,050 subscription. Ours is in the price, and the model underneath is a published one rather than a threshold: churn risk is fitted per customer, and lapsed buying is detected per customer per product, so you learn that a café stopped buying your sourdough while still buying everything else — and what that is worth in dollars a month. Every report tab exports, every report can be sliced by your own customer and product tags, and there are reports on sales by delivery run, on rep scorecards and on picker productivity by the hour.

When you want to ask the system a question. Ask Open Pantry sits on the dashboard with seventeen real data tools behind it — at-risk customers, growth opportunities, low stock, margin review, receivables, a customer’s freight rule and credit limit. It reads your live data, not a help centre. No rival has a supplier-facing assistant of any kind.

When your customers’ staff will never log in. A manager prints a QR ordering code; kitchen staff scan it and order at the venue’s own prices with no account. Sign-up links and QR codes bring a new customer on; this is for the existing customer whose chef orders by text because he refuses to create a login.

And when you are not in Australia. Ordermentum is Australia only. Upstock is New Zealand and Australia. Open Pantry bills in local currency across 46 countries.

Pricing, side by side

Supplier plan pricing, September 2026
PlatformFree tierEntry paidSetup feeTrialCharged separately on top
Open Pantry$0, unlimited POsfrom $149/monone14 days, no cardAI import credits
Ordermentumvenue side only$200/mo (15–150 customers)$399 / $2,000noneInsights, Omni AI, Growth Engine
Freshonone$499/mo$2,000+, not publishednonePremium picking, support tiers
Upstock$0, email orders$99/mo +GSTnonefree tierEDI $40/mo each, card 1.9–2.75%

Two notes. Headline prices are floors — all four scale with order volume or customer count, and Ordermentum’s own page calls its figures "approximate", with real pricing based on usage, revenue, active customers and order count. And the last column matters more than the first: a $200 Ordermentum plan with Insights and Omni is not a $200 plan.

How to actually choose

Ignore the feature lists and answer one question: which of these is currently costing you the most?

  • Not enough customers → Ordermentum.
  • Customers who will not put a card on file → Ordermentum or Open Pantry; both debit the bank account.
  • You post it rather than drive it → Upstock or Open Pantry.
  • Cost prices moving faster than sell prices → Fresho or Open Pantry; both hold the margin automatically.
  • Weighing everything, invoicing by actual weight → Fresho or Open Pantry.
  • Still on paper, need to start cheap → Upstock.
  • Chasing a supermarket listing → Upstock or Open Pantry.
  • Stock you cannot see, or waste from expiry → Open Pantry.
  • Arguments about what was delivered and what was billed → Open Pantry.
  • Grower bills that don’t match the PO → Open Pantry.
  • Your own trucks and drivers → Open Pantry.
  • Too many systems that don’t talk to each other → Open Pantry.

Most wholesalers have two or three of these at once. Rank them, buy for the top one, and check that the wholesale ordering software you choose does not create a new problem underneath — which usually means asking whether you will need a second system for stock, and whether anyone ever checks the invoice at the end.

How Open Pantry helps: wholesale ordering software that covers the whole job

Open Pantry is built so a wholesaler runs one system instead of four. Orders arrive by app, web, QR code or AI capture from email, SMS, WhatsApp and voicemail; pricing and margin rules recalculate from today’s cost; picking, packing and delivery run on the same records, with route optimisation, live ETAs and a driver app for your own trucks or a Starshipit courier hand-off; and invoicing, card and bank direct debit, credit limits and overdue rules close the loop. Paid plans start at $149 a month with a free tier below them, a 14-day trial and no setup fee, and analytics and full picking are in the price. If you are weighing us against Ordermentum specifically, what suppliers use instead goes deeper.

Frequently Asked Questions

Upstock is cheapest to start, with a free tier and paid plans from $99/month plus GST, no setup fee and no contract. Open Pantry also has a free plan with unlimited purchase orders and paid plans from $149/month with no setup fee and a 14-day trial. Ordermentum starts at $200/month plus a $399 one-off setup fee. Fresho starts at $499/month plus a setup fee of at least $2,000, with no free trial.
Ordermentum is an ordering and payments platform built around a large Australian venue marketplace; its strengths are bank direct debit, credit control and access to roughly 50,000 venues. Fresho is an operations platform built around fresh produce; its strengths are catch weight, unlimited unit-of-measure conversions and automatic margin control. Ordermentum operates in Australia only; Fresho operates in Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Ireland, the US and Singapore.
Only Open Pantry, on its Enterprise plan, with first-expired-first-out picking that steers the picker to the soonest-expiring batch, an override to the batch actually taken, and a write-off flag for an expired one. Lot-level cost flows into COGS. Ordermentum, Fresho and Upstock have no batch or expiry tracking of any kind.
Only Open Pantry. It treats ordered, received and invoiced as three separate figures: the venue checks the delivery off, that count is recorded as received, and the supplier's invoice is compared against it so discrepancies surface as billing issues rather than being paid silently. It applies the same three-way match to the bills a wholesaler receives from its own growers. Ordermentum, Fresho and Upstock all generate an invoice from the order with no receiving step in between.
Ordermentum and Open Pantry can; Fresho and Upstock do not offer credit limits. Ordermentum blocks orders at the limit. Open Pantry offers three actions — no action, stop orders, or require payment by card at checkout — plus a manual stop-credit switch, an overdue-age rule that stops orders or forces card payment when an invoice is more than a set number of days late, and automatic chasing. Ordermentum and Open Pantry both offer bank direct debit; Fresho and Upstock collect by card.
All four offer it. Open Pantry covers email, PDF, CSV, photo, handwritten notes, SMS, WhatsApp and voicemail, and learns as it goes: a confirmed order teaches it which number belongs to which customer and which wording means which product, and above a confidence threshold the order is placed with no human step. Fresho's OrderPilot covers email, SMS, WhatsApp, voicemail and PDF. Ordermentum's Omni is a paid add-on. Upstock covers email, PDF, CSV and handwritten notes.
Ordermentum and Upstock both operate marketplaces where venues browse across suppliers — which is how they help you find new customers, and also means your competitors are visible to your existing ones. Fresho and Open Pantry both operate closed networks with no shared marketplace, so your customers only ever see your catalogue and your prices.
Open Pantry has a dedicated driver app with its own login, stop-by-stop navigation, photo proof of delivery, live ETAs pushed to the venue, and built-in route optimisation on its Enterprise plan. Ordermentum has no driver app and routes optimisation to a partner such as SolBox or OptimoRoute. Fresho has printable run sheets and proof of delivery inside its main web app. Upstock handles proof of delivery inside its main app and has no route optimisation.

Sources

  1. Ordermentum pricing
  2. Ordermentum supplier features
  3. Ordermentum Omni AI order capture
  4. Ordermentum payments
  5. Ordermentum Insights
  6. Ordermentum integrations
  7. Ordermentum FAQs
  8. Fresho pricing (AU)
  9. Fresho OrderPilot
  10. Fresho digital picking & packing
  11. Fresho delivery management
  12. Fresho invoicing & payments
  13. Fresho pricing & margins
  14. Fresho inventory management
  15. Fresho integrations
  16. Fresho alternatives (Fresho's own comparison)
  17. Upstock pricing
  18. Upstock for suppliers
  19. Upstock payments
  20. Upstock integrations
  21. Upstock supermarkets (EDI)
  22. Open Pantry supplier pricing
Share
Copy link
Posted on: September 10, 2026
Posted By: Geoff Philcox

Still using phone or email for orders? There’s a better way.

Start Free Trial

Join the worlds leading edge ordering management system

Try for Free